Homeschooling

A New School Year

IMG_0951

Today is technically our last day of summer because we will officially start our new homeschool year tomorrow. I’m not as ready as I hoped to be. Probably not as ready as I need to be.

Last week I started a blog post about getting organized for the new school year. It went a little somethin like this.

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 7.45.06 PM

But…what??? Well, who knows. I got distracted and left the computer.

So that’s probably not a great start. But here we go!

***

I do have the curriculum ready, first week of assignments entered in Trello (learned about this app from Mystie Winkler, author of a homeschooling site called Simply Convivial), and that part about feeling excited about a new school year is true.

But every year comes with different challenges, the same mom who is easily distracted, and the same (but changing) crazy schedule. As the kids get older and more settled into their own ways of learning, I just need to keep adapting right along with them. I’m not the most organized homeschooling mom, but I think I do a pretty good job at being in tune to their needs. That’s only by God’s grace and getting to experience how He works in all of us.

I’m glad I get to spend this time with my kids. Here’s to a new year!

IMG_0191

Leave a Reply

