Uncategorized

As You Leave Elementary School

I’m reposting this because when I stumbled upon it last night it seemed like good timing to share again. This post is 2 years old, but I still feel the same about homeschooling. Jake is now finishing 7th grade and it’s really not as bad as I thought it would be. Downhill from here, right? 🙂

Sincerely Anna

Dear Jake,

It feels like yesterday that I looked at your cute little dimpled forehead for the first time.

2002_01 2

Gosh, I loved your dimply forehead.

2005_428

And wasn’t it just five hours ago that you were in kindergarten?

2008_3269

It couldn’t have been five YEARS ago, right? It just doesn’t seem possible that elementary school is coming to a close. Your 5th grade year is nearly complete and middle school is fast approaching. And I’m slightly overwhelmed that you and I are at this point already.

If you don’t mind, let’s go back to kindergarten.

2008_2703

I remember this day clearly. I had a lesson plan and a window of time when your sister was taking a nap. You had a police hat, a magnifying glass, and a trash bag. And for some reason, a storage bin of various-sized tennis balls and such.

My lesson plan, I’m sure, did not include going outside…

View original post 667 more words

2 thoughts on “As You Leave Elementary School

Leave a Reply

