Uncategorized

What’s Up Wednesday

I’m linking up (for the first time!) with What’s Up Wednesday, hosted by The Larson Lingo, Mix and Match Family, and Pinterest Told Me To. Blog carnivals are the perfect way to get back into the groove of writing. Thanks for the invitation, ladies.

whatsupwed1WUWquestions editWhat We’re Eating This Week

Since the DC area had plenty of warning about the 2-3 feet of snow coming our way, I joined the masses at the grocery store and stocked up on everything. I went Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, AND Friday, in fact. By the last trip, I could finally say I didn’t forget a thing. haha

We were not in need of any bread, though (thanks to leftovers from the high school ski retreat)!

IMG_7973

I made some dinners on our eMeals plan (big fan of the eMeals) that were instant family favorites. A Tex-Mex casserole (yum), a lasagna type casserole (except with linguini-yum yum), and this pretzel-crusted chicken with cheese sauce.

IMG_7894

These are listed on last week’s eMeals Classic Meals Family Plan. Usually I pick the clean eating or low calorie plan, but when there is 3 feet of snow in the forecast, comfort food is the way to go. Am I right?

What I’m reminiscing about

Snow days from the past years. I went back and looked at old photos and I can’t believe how fast my kids are growing up!IMG_0443

2010_0284

Jake 029

This group pic is from 2007. Jake (in the striped hat) and his friends are now in middle and high school!

What I’m loving

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 4.33.24 PM

I really love the First 5.org app for my daily quiet time. Right now we are in Exodus, so I read the chapter then read the devotion. I grew up going to church, know the importance of spending time in God’s word, am a pastor’s wife…blah blah blah. But I continually find it challenging to stick with something. I’m not a morning person and I’m just plain human.

But. I’ve been sticking with this for over a year and it’s just what I need. The teaching is solid and draws me in and makes me want to study more, but it’s also short and doable on a busy morning.

What I’m dreading

My first mammogram is on Groundhog Day. I’m really not looking forward to it!

What I’m working on

Homeschooling and ministry stuff keep me busy. I’m leading our yearbook team, so that’s on the immediate horizon. I’m also getting ready to teach a human body class to K-1 graders beginning in March. But other than that, I’m just working on my sanity. 🙂

What I’m excited about

Emmie’s birthday is coming up in February. I love celebrating birthdays! We plan for parties every other year, so it will just be a special family day this time around. Last year’s pajama party was really fun.

DSC_0441

What I’m watching/reading

We just started getting into Master Chef Jr. and we watch it as a family. Those kids are amazing, but I can’t handle the stress at times!

 

I have a stack of books that I’ve started and just a few that I’ve recently finished. I read What a Son Needs From His Mom by Cheri Fuller. It was excellent and encouraging.

IMG_7101

Mike and I are reading Grace Filled Marriage by Tim Kimmel for our care group at church. Great book and a good discussion starter for a small group.

What I’m Listening To

Toby Mac and Mandisa are house favorites right now.

What I’m Wearing

In my pajamas. All the days.

IMG_8154

What I’m doing this weekend

Friday night I will be going out to dinner with the ladies in our care group. So looking forward to having a night out!

What I’m looking forward to next month

 

The IF gathering at our church, Valentine’s Day, and Emmie’s 8th birthday. Wow – 8!!

What else is new?

My New Years Resolutions are still going strong. I’m a tad more organized in 2016–using the Keep app to write a daily to-do list, entering in my workouts in the MyFitnessPal app, and looking at our budget app (it’s called You Need a Budget) and Wunderlist app faithfully. I already mentioned the First5 app. My phone is seriously working for me right now. I wish it mopped floors and did laundry!

Well, if you made it to the end of this list you are amazing. Now let me ask, what’s up with you?

 

2 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. So fun to see you back in bloggy land! 🙂 I can’t believe Emmie is EIGHT!!! I think I started reading your blog right before she was born. ❤ That's crazy! And, ahem, yes, mammographies are for the birds.

  2. Love the new blog design. That meal looks delicious, I think it’ll have to try it out! The app looks intriguing, too. Thanks for the new ideas :). Enjoy the snow! I’m sure you guys are sick of it by now, but I’d take some here since ours is melting. Cross country skiing and snowshoeing are two of my favorite winter activities. I’ll try downhill skiing and ice skating… only if I’m feeling invincible.

Leave a Reply

