Blogging · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Thankful and Grateful

Well, hello there. Dusting this old blog off tonight feels a little awkward. Before I say what I’ve said many, many times before and go on about how much I’ve missed blogging, I’ll just say OH HELLO! It’s been a while, hasn’t it?, give you a hug, and offer you some amazing leftover Halloween candy.

Since I last wrote, we went through Summer and Fall and are now heading into the holidays of 2015. Mike is currently on the other side of the ocean on a missions trip in Togo, Africa.

IMG_6652

 

11958063_10205410511557356_2427709748237675070_o

TGWAAHOTY (The Greatest Week and a Half of the Year) will look a little different this time. We won’t be together for his birthday as he will be celebrating in a village, having Thanksgiving turkey with the team (they took two frozen birds with them, which is hilarious, right?!), but we will get to celebrate our anniversary, my birthday, and Emmie’s adoption day when he returns.

IMG_5283

Jake is now 13 years old. I just can’t believe we already have a teenager in the house. Each day is different, but we are seeing him grow up before our eyes. He is so smart, funny, and witty.

DSC_0364

Seventh Grade-Jake Speer

What’s it like to parent a middle schooler? Well. In all seriousness, it’s humbling. I’m not a let-it-go kind of parent, I’m finding out. I tend to be a lecture-it-out kind of parent. Blah. I want to be different. I thank the Lord that Mike balances me out in this area. His words are carefully chosen. I admire that.

I think it’s harder at times being a homeschooling mom. A teenager needs some space to learn certain lessons on his/her own (and often the hard way). But I’m there all up in his bid’ness. Just as I am lecturing him on acting impulsively, my words and tone of voice are also impulsive. God is gentle and patient with me as He holds up that mirror. Many apologies (from both of us) have been made and forgiveness has been given. I know that’s a good thing in the bigger picture.

I absolutely love middle school kids and I’ve loved being a youth leader to this fun and engaging age group for over 15 years. They are dramatic, hilarious human beings. Except when they are dramatic and not-so-hilarious. But man, they are figuring out who they are and where they belong. I just want to give them hugs and tell them God loves them for the unique puzzle pieces He’s created them to be.

12248032_10208342574829055_8867112033165218518_o

IMG_6304

Then there’s this little sweet piece.

Emmie Fall 2015lr-2

 

IMG_4426

Emmie is as extroverted and bouncy as she has ever been. Second grade has been the most fun and she says that she loves being homeschooled, but she counts down the seconds each day until her neighbor friends get off that school bus.

IMG_5120

It seems like we have the best of both worlds. She learns quickly and wants to finish her work so she can play. That also means she keeps me on my toes. Constantly. Love that girl.

IMG_6181

Even if she did draw this picture of me and my “blonde but dark underneath” hair.

IMG_5655

It’s nice to get back to blogging (trying to be positive here and make it sound like I’ll be back tomorrow).

Until then, I’ll help myself to some of that leftover Halloween candy before it’s gone.

3 thoughts on “Thankful and Grateful

  1. I can’t believe how big your kids are getting (even though mine are doing the same! šŸ™‚ ). Jonah will be 13 in February, and I can’t even wrap my brain around it. I tend to be a lecture-it-out kind of parent, too, and I hate it about myself. Working so hard to change that. Bleh. It’s so good to see you back in bloggy land! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

