Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories about Emmie

Emotions & Earrings

Who would have thought that holes in the ears would be so emotional?

Emmie has been asking to get her ears pierced for several months. She wanted to wear earrings to Anna’s wedding in December, and being a jr. bridesmaid in her birthmom’s wedding is an earring-worthy experience. I agreed that it was a very good reason. I wanted ear piercing to be a special milestone in her life and a day that she would remember. So we made plans for a Mommy-Daughter day out at the mall.

First, the before picture.

IMG_1236

My thought at this moment? I can’t.

I can’t take her to do something big girlish. She’s still 5 months old and I’m taking videos of her playing with her cute little feet, not taking her to the mall to get her ears pierced.

But you should’ve seen how resolved she was to get them done. She was nervous as can be, but as brave as you could imagine.

Sorry (not sorry) for all the pictures. But it was a big moment, a big day. Pretty emotional. I felt like my heart was about to burst. She was so brave.

IMG_1242

Of course, she brought Bunny. That actually was pretty comforting for me. πŸ™‚

IMG_1244

IMG_1246

IMG_1247

IMG_1248

IMG_1251

IMG_1254

After we admired her pretty flower studs in the mirror and I told her how beautiful she was and how proud I was of her, we walked over to Dippin’ Dots to celebrate.

IMG_1255

I just love this girl so much.

IMG_1256

4 thoughts on “Emotions & Earrings

  1. The pictures really tell the story. Great post. Loved watching Emmie’s 5mo video again. So sweet! Emmie, you picked out pretty pink earrings and you look so pretty and grown up! Exciting time for you.

  2. Oh don’t mind me, just catching up on your blog, tearing up a little thinking about how there’s NO possible way that grown young lady can be the little buddy I’ve had the past six years. Miss you all!

Leave a Reply

