Uncategorized

The Roof Over Our Head And The Fan Under The Hood (And The Puddle In The Cabinet)

So, have you ever heard the one about the plumber, the roofer, and the mechanic? Sadly, it’s not the beginning of a bad joke. It was our reality – all three were needed this week. Ouch! Fortunately, we learned of all of these urgent matters just before we committed to a bathroom remodeling job. It wasn’t going to be anything fancy, just updated, new, and shiny. But we finally came to the decision to go for it.

But then it rained hard. Really hard. We obviously needed our gutters cleaned out (again? didn’t we just do it?) so when we happened to see a contractor at our neighbor’s house cleaning theirs, I asked him to stop by. Long story short, our gutter was clogged with sand from old shingles and our roof needs to be replaced.

I called the remodeling guy and told him we were going to have to wait on our new, shiny bathroom. He was really nice and gave me the name of a roofer and it appears that his connection is going to save us some money. Also, he owns the plumbing company and sent a guy out this morning (Saturday) to see why there was a big puddle of water below our kitchen sink.

All of this happened on the same day that we took in our van to the mechanic because the engine light was on and the fan underneath the hood wouldn’t stop when I took the key out of the ignition. I don’t know about you but I’d like a car to turn off when I decide to turn it off. It was beginning to feel like I was back in high school when my brother’s fiancee let me borrow her old Chevy Caprice Classic to drive to school my senior year. It made noises after I turned off the ignition – I’d hear it going as I walked all the way from the parking lot into the school entrance.

Good times.

Loved it.

So, yeah. I’d much rather pay for a new bathroom than for a new roof, garbage disposal, and any new part for the old minivan, but hey. I’m signing a thankful song to the Lord for His timing and provision. He knows exactly what we need much more than we do.

One thought on “The Roof Over Our Head And The Fan Under The Hood (And The Puddle In The Cabinet)

Leave a Reply

