InstaFriday

InstaFriday

instafridaybutton

I’m linking up with InstaFriday at Life Rearranged and sharing the stories behind some of my Instagram pics this week. I’m sincerelyannablog if you want to follow.

IMG_20140109_172150

Sun in her eyes, cheesy smile, wearing pink from head to toe (well, knee). And the fact that her expression matched the birdie on her hat made my day.

Speaking of birdies, we picked up some early readers at the library. She’s on the verge of taking off, but before today I hadn’t yet heard her just pick up a book and start to read independently. As soon as we got back in the car, she opened the book and started reading out loud. I had to pull over and ask her to do it again for me. 🙂 This is just a 10-second clip. I love her little voice.

IMG_20140108_172725

Max loves to read and while he reads of variety of things in his free time (Dangerous Book for Boys, a science fiction series called The Missing, haunted house stories, comics, and every Lego catalog ever published are among his current reads), he’s got to read books for school, too. Old Yeller is on the list this year, and he likes it a lot but only reads what he has to each day. He’s about half-way through. He hates it when I get emotional while I read the read-alouds (I always do. Always and always.) So, I’m wondering…

IMG_20140108_111050

I had to stuff scarves into my windows this week when the temperatures hovered around zero this week. Doesn’t everyone stuff a scarf into their front window on bitter cold days? My power windows froze (the cable mechanism) and caused “slop” which opened the window a crack and at some point the fuse blew. Thankfully, on Day 2 of waiting for it to defrost, Mike thought of the idea to check the fuse. I was able to buy another one for less than $4. Easy problem to fix but in the meantime, it was a cold ride in my van even with the heater on full blast. (I didn’t actually get to try my scarf idea. Too proud (vain?). But I did get in the drive-thru lane before remembering that oh yeah, I can’t roll down my window. I got out of the car and made small talk with a McDonald’s employee who had absolutely no interest in why my windows weren’t working. That was funny.)

IMG_20140109_172801

Lastly, Max looked like a young man at the barber shop and I wanted to cry. The hair on the floor makes me want to throw up, but the sight of him sitting there with his side part and jeans that are suddenly too short is too much for me to handle!) Good thing I’m now noticing that he is wearing two different white socks. He’s still a boy who needs his mama.

That’s it for this week. Hope to link up every Friday as a way to look back on the week and smile. We all need that, don’t we? Have a great weekend!

One thought on “InstaFriday

  1. Why do they have to grow up so fast?? Love her voice reading! Love that my son isn’t the only one who looks grown up while getting his hair cut!

    Have a great Friday! Ann

Leave a Reply

