Stories About Anna

Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving, friends. It’s the end of November, what?

DSC_0455

We made a thankful tree again this year (it looks identical to last year’s version). This project was Mini’s baby this year, and thanks to her talent of being a bossypants gift of motivating others, the first few days were successful. We wrote leaf after leaf the things we were thankful for.

The rest of the month, however; was a different story. We did a satisfactory job of remembering to write down something (once or twice a week at best), but like all Novembers past it was the thought that counted most. Thankfulness was a topic on our brains and in our conversations. That little tree in the corner of our kitchen blended in with life. The visual aid held us (me) accountable. Perhaps we (I) showed gratitude in the midst of bad days, tough math problems, and hiding a scar from thyroid surgery because of that tree. I’d like to think so.

scarves2

IMG_20131118_105817

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever. 1 Chronicles 16:34

I have so much to be thankful for. 

God, thank you for all of the blessings you’ve given me. Thank you for my husband, my kids, the friends near and far, and family who mean more to me than anything earned or rewarded here on Earth. In your sovereignty, you allowed this past year to be a tough one. Though I haven’t grasped everything you have planned for me to take away from it (I’m a slow learner), I trust you completely with that process. I am clay in Your hands, and You never get tired of working with me. Even though I know you simply want me to live my life in You and for You, I resist and make life all about me. I’m thankful for Your love and grace, for the forgiveness of my sin by your Son’s death and resurrection, and for taking me deeper in my walk with you this year. Above all, I’m thankful that every blessing in my life is a gift from You.

2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Ann, I got your comment but I’m not sure where it went on this post. Weird! Thank you for your kind words. You are a wonderfully encouraging friend!

Leave a Reply

