Thyroid Nodule

Thyroid Surgery

In less than a week I’ll be back home from having my thyroidectomy (or partial thyroid removal, whatever is decided during surgery). Not that I’m looking forward to it, but I am ready!

The surgery is on Monday morning, downtown at GW Hospital. The kids are going to Pops & Nana’s on Saturday and they are excited!

Because I need to be there at 5:30 in the a.m. on Monday, we decided to do the smart thing and stay at a hotel near the hospital. In fact, to make it easier for Mike so that he doesn’t have to battle traffic to and from, he’ll stay the next night, as well.

They will do another biopsy while I’m on the table so I am somewhat anxious to hear those results. The nodule is large (3.4 cm) so there is a chance the first biopsy missed something, but everyone is predicting that it is a benign adenoma and I’ll only need one side of my thyroid removed. Either way, it’s in God’s hands and I will either celebrate that no more treatment is needed or accept whatever lies ahead. The treatment for thyroid cancer is pretty simple in comparison to any other kind of cancer. I hope I don’t have to go through it, of course, but it’s not something I’m scared about.

After my last appointment with my surgeon, I felt very well informed that the possibility of cancer is still there, but it’s truly not a sad, horrible thing. The surgery is the right thing to do either way. He gave me the option to wait as long as I wanted to, but eventually the slow-growing nodule would be the size of a potato. Who wants a potato in their neck? Check, please. I’ll take the surgery now.

I try to stay not-so-complainy but Mike will tell you I am constantly bothered by the nodule (and frankly, he’s had enough, I’m sure!) It’s not painful, but I have a sore throat and feel a sensation that someone has two fingers on my throat because of where it’s pressing on my windpipe. ย Evidently, I feel it only now that I’m aware of it, which is highly irritating in and of itself. Like I said, I’m ready for this to be over!

Thank you to those who have commented or told me in person that you’re praying for me. I have felt so loved and supported.

3 thoughts on “Thyroid Surgery

  1. You can do this. My husband cautiously and rightfully told me last week it was like someone had poured gasoline on my ovaries with how cranky, stressed out, and frustrating I was to deal with…Life has been difficult here the last few months. Anyway I’m sure Mike has had enough too but I bet even more than he loves you and is grateful to be able to walk this journey with you. Be blessed!

  2. I’ve been thinking about you as your date nears, you sound peaceful and prepared, which is great. I know you will feel better having it gone and also knowing it’s outta there. I’ll be praying for a successful surgery and quick, uneventful recovery! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

