Stories About Jake

Eleven

I remember what a big deal it was to be considered old enough to light the candles of my own birthday cake. It’s kind of a rite of passage, isn’t it?

11th

While he had a couple of friends over to play video games and have an “epic sword fight” against Hero Brine outside on a nice 75 degree day, Mini and I made him a cake that I knew would put a smile on his face and turn his tongue green with happiness. After we drove his friend home, even though they had the best and loudest time together, he said “okay, now I get to go home and take the rest of the day off.”

Which meant he just wanted to go home and turn on the TV.

But I think it’s safe to say he was okay with just a quiet family cake and ice-cream party.

For his special dinner he requested Whopper Jr’s. I know that’s not healthy but don’t worry; earlier this week he begged me to get him a ginormous bag of fish sticks at Sam’s.

Eleven. Off to a great start!

IMG_0971

Happy Birthday, Max. I love you forever and ever and ever. On the good days and the bad days, through thick and through thin, my love for you never ends.

One thought on “Eleven

  1. Happy Birthday, Max!
    This reminds me of a clip I saw on America’s Funniest Videos of a little girl learning her numbers with flash cards. When she got to the number 11, she said, “It’s a pause.” Her dad said, “No, this is 11”. They argued and argued, and he couldn’t convince her it wasn’t a “pause”! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

