Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories About Jake

One Year Later

Yesterday was the anniversary of when Max got sick and was in the ICU at Children’s. He came down with a virus that quickly developed into meningoencephalitis.

165985_10150886955372478_442383122_n

If you want to read the whole story, start at this postย – it’s a great story about God’s protection and power and how His hand was in everything, which kept our faith strong even in the darkest hours. Max was only in the hospital for 6 days, after doctors initially prepared us for months of recovery and rehab. {Deep breath} Thank you, Lord!

DSC_1577

This week the kids went to the same VBS (at my home church when I was a kid) that Max was attending last year when he got sick. Oh my goodness, the memories. You know how VBS weeks are? Hyper. Fun. The best. It was even better than the best. Both kids were in VBS. I was kid-free for 3 hours each day.

The first morning I aimlessly drove around with no solid plans. I went to Michael’s to get supplies for making a scrapbook of Max’s hospital stay, but got what I needed and still had 2 hours. So I went to Panera and ordered a bagel and a mocha. Then I went to the grocery store to get blueberries. Then I sat in the car.

In a giant padded envelope on my front seat, I had all the photos I took of Max in the hospital and cards that were sent to him. I looked through all of them and read every single card. Cards from young kids, older friends, relatives, and teachers.ย One letter said,

Ever since the first time you walked into my preschool Sunday School class, I knew you had a BIG heart. You were full of passion, and excitement, and you loved your friends hard – with all that was in you. You were full of gusto!

Sometime during that year, God whispered in my ear and said to me, “I gave [Max] a big heart. I filled him with gusto, and he is going to do great things for me.” So that’s when I knew I had to do a really good job teaching you, because after all, I had a rock star in my class! And so, my love for you grew and grew and that’s why when I heard you got sick, I was soooo sad. I thought, “This can’t happen, because [Max] hasn’t done great things for God yet!” But then God, who is patient with ding dongs like me, whispered to me again, and showed me that you were already doing great things for Him, just by being you. After all, look how many hundreds of people were praying for you – all over the world — drawing near to God on your behalf. So I figured that if you could do something great like this at nine years old, without even trying, I can’t even imagine what you will do for God when you’re 19, or 29, or 89!

I read those letters and cards and looked through all the photos and just cried. And cried. And cried some more. That morning – this week – I was once again reminded of everything I love about this boy.

IMG_0971

And how truly undeserving and grateful I am to the Lord for him. Getting to be his mom is better than the best.

6 thoughts on “One Year Later

  1. So glad Max recovered so quickly and has done so well since!! The Sunday school teachers letter has me in tears! How emotional this week must have been!! Xoxo

  2. My heart is still filled with JOY of God’s goodness, esp. in that sweet boy’s life. I am thankful that YOU ARE HIS MOMMA!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you guys!

  3. Wow, I can believe it’s been a year ago. So, so thankful for God’s amazing grace and mercy and miraculous power in Max’s life. And I love that letter! Celebrating this week with you!

  4. Thank you guys for your support and love…two of you I haven’t even met in person but consider you friends through our blogs and stories of life from Maryland to Texas to Africa! Amazing!!

  5. I just read everything you went through when Max was sick – what a terrifying time. Thank goodness for God’s blessings! I’m so glad he’s healthy and this is behind you.

Leave a Reply

