Adoption (Open) · Stories About Jake

Adoption Day

Ten years ago today we went to court and finalized Max’s adoption. We were told that our judge absolutely loved presiding over adoption proceedings and he was so friendly.

AdoptionDay

I look at this picture (one of my all-time favorites) and attempt to remember with certainty what was going through my mind at that moment. I know I was fearing for my life that Max would spit up all over the judge, or whack him in the head with the gavel.

But did I have any idea what the next 10 years and beyond would have in store?


IMG_0832

Nope. Not in the least.

I love this boy so, so much!

For Adoption Day, we blocked off our schedule and spent the afternoon and evening together as a family. Mike came home early from work and we went to the movies (with blankets because the theater is a refrigerator). Max always wants to go to the movies for his adoption day. I believe this is the 4th year in a row. He was conflicted about his movie choice: Epic or Monsters U, which comes out on June 21st. But going today on the actual Adoption Day won.

As we drove by the marquee Max saw that Iron Man 3 was still showing but that idea got shot down fast.

IMG_0830

How creepy is it that Tony Stark is looking out the window??? Did he hear our conversation in the car?

Epic was kinda cute, but I didn’t have the same love for it as I did for our previous Adoption Days flicks. We saw Toy Story 3, Cars 2, and Madagascar 3 in years’ past. Hard to beat any of those.

Still, we had a great day together and laughed a whole lot. Happy Adoption Day, Max. We love you!

7 thoughts on “Adoption Day

  1. 1) Happy Adoption Day, Max!!!
    2) Didn’t even notice Tony Stark until you mentioned him. Creepy!
    3) You are the cutest mom ever. 🙂

  2. That is such a sweet and wonderful thing to do on this awesome day. I will pass this idea on to my sister and brother in law. Congratulations to you all on your adoption. Your very blessed

    1. Thanks for visiting my blog, Jennifer. I wish your sister and brother in law the best in their adoption journey. The wait is hard, I know!

Leave a Reply

