Family · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Five for Friday

It’s Friday, so let’s take a look back at some of the memorable moments or funny things that happened this week.

1. Mike’s cousin got married in Arkansas last weekend and sadly, we weren’t able to make it to the wedding. Such a bummer – it looks like we missed a great party!

Aunt Nancy Aunt Sharon Pops

Hahaha! Love seeing Mike’s dad in pink petals! I’ve got to hand it to his sisters for getting him in that photo booth because Max and Mini are going to LOVE having a copy of this!

Such a bummer that we missed being with everyone.

2. Do you read Leslie’s blogNobody Gave Me the Instruction Book? I laugh so hard at the way she tells a story about her day. Plus she’s from Arkansas, and I kinda like people from that state. I started reading in December when she linked to a Show Us Your Life post on Kelly’s Korner. Her kids are adorable and so funny.

Anyway, the other day Leslie wrote that her daughter lost her tooth and do you know how weird it is when your life imitates something you read on a blog? After reading her post, I thought, gosh, it’s been a long time since Max lost a tooth. Then today, out of the clear blue sky, he told me his tooth was loose. He wiggled it for a few seconds and pulled it right out.

DSC_0135

It was the quickest and most painless way to ensure a visit from the Tooth Fairy so far. Speaking of that, after he pulled the tooth he regretted the timing for a minute. He said, “aw man, I should’ve lost it at Pops & Nana’s. I get $5 bills there!”

That’s okay, I told him. I have another plan. Let’s see how much that picture in the pink petals is worth. ha!!

3. Gotta poke fun at myself too here – tonight I gave Max a hug goodnight and he noticed that I had changed into my workout clothes and had my hair up in a ponytail and my bangs up in a clip. I never wear my bangs up like that and honestly, I don’t really know how to clip them up in a cute way. But hey, cute is not really what I’m going for when I workout by myself in the living room.

Max gave me a hug and said, “Mom, I think you’re beautiful (pause) (very long pause) even when you’re in your workout clothes and it shows your humongo forehead.”

Well.

Maybe I’m glad he said the word forehead.

Is it really that humongo? I had no idea.

IMG_0827a

4. We are close to the end of the school year. My review is in 2 weeks but still have a month to go before we completely finish math, science, and history. It’s been a crazy year with a lot of traveling (which is a nice homeschooling perk to have the flexibility to do so) and my surgery and we got behind in these subjects. But we are making some serious headway here at the final stretch.

Mike took over as the full-time math teacher, which has helped, as well. Max and I were going head to head with math everyday because he was slow at getting the assignment finished. I thought either I was going insane or it was ADHD stuff. In this case, it was definitely not (the ADHD stuff. The insane part is still in question).

Since most of my readers aren’t here for homeschooling topics, I won’t go into it but I did find this to be an interesting change and a big learning experience for me (and somewhat humbling). I know what I was doing wrong and I see what Mike is doing right.

Mike, are you skimming? You don’t want to miss what I just wrote. 🙂

So, yes, we will survive 4th grade math, after all.

DSC_0102

For his final science project he is growing corn and beans. And writing a lot in a journal. He did say at one point that he wanted more experiments but this journal is making him take back that wish. But he’s plugging away and doing a great job. Fingers crossed, we’ll have a corn stalk to call our own by the end of June.

5.

.DSC_0075

For #5 on my list I just wanted to show you this picture of Mini and her diva dog. It’s getting late and I’ve run out of words. You want to leave here anyway and go read Leslie’s blog or maybe you could make this sandwich.

DSC_0096

Shay talked about it on her blog and I have become a fan. Like a serious fan. I put turkey, cucumber, Laughing Cow light garlic & herb spread, red pepper, and feta on a toasted 7-grain flat bread roll. Yum.

Happy Friday!

 

2 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. I don’t know what to say – thank you for your sweet remarks about my blog! I got excited when I started reading your post and heard you have family in Arkansas. What part of the state?

    I think Emma and Max are tooth buddies. This was the first time Emma ever pulled her own tooth. She usually lets it dangle until I’m nearly about to pass out!

    1. Mostly the southern part of the state, although his aunts and uncles live in Little Rock and Mena. Mike’s dad grew up in Camden and his mom is from Hope. I love our visits to Arkansas!

Leave a Reply

