Adoption (Open) · Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom

Counting the Blessings

I think it’s a good practice to start out the week counting my blessings. It’s a stressful time right now – wrapping up school, buying curriculum for next year, making decisions, having a packed calendar, hardly seeing Mike, etc.

Inside my head I want to shout out, “Hey, it’s SUMMER! Where’s my loosy goosy schedule?” But in reality, we’re not there yet. And unfortunately, the first few weeks of summer are very busy for youth ministry.

SO.

I need to count my blessings. And it wouldn’t be a bad idea to take deep breaths. In and out. In and out.

(Speaking of that, on Friday evening, I had messed up on a meal that I was taking to a family, decided to pick up pizza instead, had planned to keep one of the pizzas for ourselves, and then walked in and put all the boxes on their table and left. Halfway home I looked over onto the passager seat and asked “where is our pizza?”

Max wanted me to turn around and get it back, so not only was I angry at myself for being such a scatter-brain, I had to respond when I realized he was being totally serious.

It was getting late, and we had been at the pool. The kids were dying of starvation, they couldn’t last one more minute. I gave up and pulled into a drive-thru.

I guess it was obvious Mama here was on the verge of cracking because the kids were really quiet and Mini said, “breathe in and out.”)

***

Counting my blessings this week:

I am blessed to have a wonderful life. A husband who is everything to me. My kids who are gifts from God. My health. A home. So many comforts, it’s ridiculous. Old cars that are running just fine. Six grocery stores in a five-mile radius. Getting to be a stay-at-home mom. Serving in a church that we love. Surrounded by awesome people.

This weekend we attended a party and someone asked about Max getting meningoencephalitis last summer. A crowd kind of gathered, or at least it seemed that way. I was reminded to count his recovery as a major blessing. I have thought about his seizure, his coma, and that long, scary night every single day this year. I am thankful for some of the best memories of that intense time. God is faithful and merciful to fill my mind with those things.

I know this to be true, but talking about it this weekend at the party brought something to the forefront of my mind.

Life is a blessing!

***

We are also blessed to have open adoptions. Our kids had a chance to Skype or FaceTime with their birthmoms this week.

Birthmoms

Normally I take time with Max and Mini and help them send out Mother’s Day cards, but this year was a fail. I went to NM right before Mother’s Day and the following week somehow blurred into the beginning of June. So instead of cards, it worked out that we got to Skype instead.

Both of the kids wanted time alone for a bit, which I thought was great. And both of them couldn’t stay away from interrupting their sibling’s “alone time,” which wasn’t great.

DSC_0072

Yes, that picture is of Mini back-kicking her costume-wearing brother, who was being obnoxious.

DSC_0073

And that’s her costume-wearing brother’s expression of how sorry he was for being obnoxious. Not sorry at all.

But ANYWHO, that’s life. And life…is a blessing to count.

Happy Monday!

9 thoughts on “Counting the Blessings

    1. Thanks, Ann. You’re the best at leaving comments…I count you as a blessing, too! Your comments encourage me all the time. Have a great week!

  1. Great blessings. I love how Mini coached you to calm down. My child who stresses all the time was telling me yesterday to think about something that brings me joy or sing my favorite hymn. They are learning and we’re not always failing! Good luck this month!

    1. I agree, it is heartwarming to hear our messages getting through, even when it’s not exactly the timing we’d prefer. It’s what we needed, though, huh?

    1. So normal! By the way, yesterday I went back and read some of your posts from when Will and Em were my kids’ ages now. I laughed and nodded a lot!

Leave a Reply

