Family

Mother’s Day

I flew back from my grandpa’s funeral last night and was on the schedule to teach this morning in the 3 year-old class, so needless to say, I’m a little tired. But before turning in tonight, I wanted to recap the highlights of my special Mother’s Day.

But first, I have to say that the greeting I received when I walked in the front door last night topped everything. My kids, showered and ready for bed, came running down the stairs for hugs and kisses. Breathing in the familiar scent of their shampoo, I didn’t want to let go.

Mini couldn’t wait to show me the potted plants she made at MDO and Cubbies, and Max sat me down on the couch to watch a Mother’s Day video he created. It was a 1 or 2 minute video he shot in the living room, covering different items in his view. Like his backpack on the chair or the lamp in the corner. Oh, and he shared that he was wearing the same shorts he wore the previous day.

It was a riveting piece of cinema, to say the least. But did I love it? Of course.

I also loved the special cards they made for me.

DSC_0089

 

Mini’s colorful card in which two hands are Scotch(R)-taped together with TONS of tape is really sweet. This is how she colors every art project these days. I love it. Max’s card perfectly represents himself at this age, too. It was a 4-page comic strip with stick figures and humorous details.

MothersDayCardpp1_2

 

MothersDayCardpp3_4

 

He goes for originality and I love that. How many Mother’s Day cards can you find at Hallmark about ninjas?

I also looked through the mail last night and opened cards from Anna (Mini’s birthmom) and the rest of her family with written sentiments that mean the world to me. Anna, Tina, Joe, Kara & Audrey – thank you so much.

After surviving the 3 year-old Sunday School class this morning, we went over to Mike’s parents for a late lunch. They made fried chicken, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, peas, and rolls. It was like Happy Mother’s Day on a plate. I was in heaven.

And those were my feelings before I had a slice of the Oreo ice-cream pie thatΒ was served to me as I was dozing off for my first of two naps this afternoon.

Happy Mother’s Day, indeed.

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Oh my goodness! Love the cards the kids made for you!! So sweet! Sounds perfectly heavenly!! I’m so glad you had a great Mother’s Day!

    Hugs and prayers as you rest and reflect this week!

    Ann

Leave a Reply

