Stories About Anna

Alphabet Meme

This is a fun meme that I saw on Valerie’s blog a while back. Gosh, how long has it been since I’ve done a meme? Well, nothing like being sick for a few days and having extra time on my hands to give me a sense that it’s time to open up and share (and assume you want to know!). I’m sure this will be life-changing material to read. Here goes!

A. Age: 38

B. Bed size: queen

C. Chore that you hate: Vacuuming. Our vacuum is dying a slow, painful death. It’s always a source of stress to deal with it.

Of course, I deal with that stress by not doing anything about it.

D. Dogs: I love dogs. We had an old, sweet, lovable beagle for 7 years that we adopted from the shelter.

Sitting on Ellie

She was our baby before Max was born but she acclimated easily to life with a toddler. She let Max do just about anything to her, especially when she realized he dropped Cheerios from his high chair. Mini never knew Ellie, but she adds her name when she lists members of the family. We miss her.

Sadly, we’ve lost two of our doggie relatives recently. Aunt Jen’s pug, Sparky, and Pops & Nana’s English bulldog, Clementine, passed away. Even though Mini is allergic to dogs and stayed away so she wouldn’t have a reaction or start coughing, she LOVED them to pieces and was very attached.

She was quite dramatic the morning she heard the news that Clementine died. Turning toward her bedroom down the hall, she exclaimed, “I have to be alone now!”

Bless her heart.

E. Essential start to your day: Back in September I subscribed to the Proverbs 31 Ministries devotion and use this as my quiet time in the morning. I love these devotions.

Then, there’s this:

DSC_1106 - Version 2

I need a cup of hot choffee around 11:30. It’s not the start to my day, but essential nonetheless. I love the word nonetheless.

It must be Dark Chocolate Sensation from Swiss Miss. And it must be exactly 1 cup of Starbucks French Roast (but I brew 2 cups in our little old school Mr. Coffee maker).

I have just started to drink coffee this year. But my friends – and especially Mike – don’t allow me to say this is drinking coffee.

There might be some eye rolling when I use the term hot choffee, too.

F. Favorite color: Purple

G. Gold or Silver: I wear more gold than silver but I like both

H. Height: 5′ 5″

I. Instruments you play: None. My dad is musical and I grew up Southern Baptist, so I was exposed to lots of instruments. I took piano lessons, played clarinet, sang in choirs and choruses, and was in a handbell choir for a year or two. I even tried to take guitar lessons. I can read sheet music but I have no musical talent whatsoever.

J. Job title: I’m a homeschooling mom and I love it.

DSC_1124

K. Kids: Max (10), Mini (5). I decided in 2007 to use nicknames here on the blog to protect their privacy (although now that I’ve shared 6 years of stories and occasionally link my blog to Facebook it often makes me wonder why I still do it). But the names have stuck and Max loves his part-time gigs as Detective Max and News Reporter Max for my blog. He loves to make videos as these correspondents. I have SO many un-edited videos to share with you…never. But we get a kick out of them here at home. I just watched a bunch today, in fact, when I opened Photo Booth. He was News Reporter Max: The Cartoon. I love that kid.

L. Live: I live in the suburbs of Washington DC, where I’ve lived all my life.

DSC_0257

M. Mother’s name: Linda. Fun trivia fact: My mother-in-law is also Linda. My childhood best friend’s mom is Lynda. And my college roommate’s mom is Linda.

Dad Retirement 35

N. Nicknames: My older brother started calling me Annie in high school. We weren’t very close growing up (I was a PEST!) until he spent a college semester at home when we suddenly became friends. I loved that relationship and he made a huge impact on my Christian walk.

One day he discovered that I was struggling and he went to the bookstore and bought me a Bible inscribed with my name on the cover. He wrote something on the inside like this: Annie, let the pages in this book be the most worn of any book you’ll ever own.  Still today, I have such an admiration for him and thankful for how he’s been a protective brother. When he calls me Annie I feel super special, just like he had made me feel at 16.

Now he’s our financial advisor. So he’s still protecting me. And our millions. 🙂

O. Overnight hospital stays: I had jaw surgery when I was 16 years old and stayed at the hospital for 5 days.

P. Pet peeves: My own social awkwardness! I think that’s why I love being a Jr. High youth leader. I fit right in.


DSC_1467

Q. Quote from a movie: My favorite movie is While You Were Sleeping, for sentimental reasons. I think it’s a funny movie, and Mike and I saw that on our first date. I am so bad remembering movie lines, I really butcher them. But Mike has an incredible talent for it, and I love when he quotes a line from this movie.

After 16 years, I still think he’s my cute boyfriend.

R. Right or left handed: Right handed.

S. Siblings: Ashley (almost 6 years older) and Valerie (2 1/2 years older).

T. Time it takes you to get ready: 45 minutes (double that when the kids and I have to get ready at the same time. Triple that some days.)

U. Ultimate Vacation: Beach with family

IMG_8031

IMG_7444

DSC_0434 - Version 2

V. Vegetable you hate: Cooked greens sitting in a pot

W. What makes you run late: Everything. I am constantly running late.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: Too many

Y. Yummy food that you make: Cobb Salad

DSC_0512

Z. Zoo animal: I love going to the zoo so it’s hard to pick a favorite, but I always love watching the pandas. They make me giggle.

IMG_6279

Okay, now it’s your turn. Play along on your blog or tell me some of your answers. For starters, pick the letter U. Where is your ultimate vacation? Or the letter y. What yummy food is your specialty? I want to know.
Seriously. I’m a little bored.
4 thoughts on “Alphabet Meme

  1. U: Ultimate vacation would be to head east and visit some wonderful people we know in Maryland! 🙂 While I am there, I would love to visit Washington DC and other historical sites. Now that I’m old, history fascinates me.
    Y: Yummy food…luckily my kids think I make a lot of yummy food but I would have to say that it’s my Mom’s meat loaf and mashed potatoes.

    I’m sorry you were sick and bored but I love reading about you!

    1. I hope you can come visit us! Not that I’m much of a tour guide but I know how to get to all the museums. Just don’t rely on that skill for Baltimore. We might end up driving around for a while. 🙂

  2. So fun reading this! I smiled all the way through it. 🙂 And loved all your pictures, especially the ones of little tiny Mini! My husband tells me I’m not a real coffee drinker, either, because I use so much cream and sugar. And I’m right there in your same boat on the letter “P”. Your “V” made me laugh out loud. Really, we must figure out a way to meet in person someday! Want to know a secret? It’s not on the “official” calendar yet, so I can’t really make an “official” announcement, but I’m going to back to Uganda in December. (woohooo!) Maybe THIS time we could figure out a way to meet up in DC? Third time’s the charm, right? 😉

    1. That is good news! A third trip to Uganda…who would’ve thought? I hope it works out that we can meet up. Can you do some sightseeing for a day or so?

Leave a Reply

