Disney World January 2013

Day One and Two: Road Trip to Disney

Pops & Nana know how to do road trips. They rented a minivan. We drove to Orlando and stayed overnight at a hotel, so spread out over two days in a roomy van with the bells and the whistles, 14 hours was easy peasy.

The kids did great on the drive. They really kept it together.

Wish I could say the same for their mother.

IMG_0001

I picked up a little souvenir at the rest stop and proceeded to walk down the sidewalk from the bathroom to the vending machines like this.

Off to a great start.

We stopped at Cracker Barrel for lunch. Mini loves lemonade.

IMG_0004

Max ordered his usual (cheeseburger with ketchup and lettuce), french fries with honey mustard, and root beer that he drinks at the end of his meal.

IMG_0002

Then we stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts a little bit later for a pick-me-up.

IMG_0005 IMG_0007

Can you tell I got Mini’s cold? I’m trying so hard to keep my germs to myself.

We got to the hotel by mid-afternoon, just in time to unwind a bit. Max has his own way of unwinding.

IMG_0009

We went to Pops & Nana’s room to play a game of Apples to Apples and then went out to eat. Mini was tired and had french fries, which proved to be a rather disastrous combination.

 

She was sitting on my lap after I finished eating. I was trying to get her to keep eating but she was really sleepy.  As she waved one of her french fries around, she poked me in the eye with it.

Let me repeat: I got poked in the eye with a french fry.

Now, normally I would laugh. But I have a history of scratching my cornea easily and that’s exactly what happened on Night One of Vacation.

Thankfully, I’m all better now, but it was a rough night/morning.

I haven’t scratched my cornea in over a year but as you might remember, I did this at least a dozen times in the past. It hurts a lot and life pretty much stops until the scratch heals on its own. But I’m religious about using Muro 128 every night and I brought it with me on the trip, thank the Lord. I went to bed at 8:00 last night and took an Advil PM and I tried to rest my eyes as much as possible this morning. By lunch time I could open my eye and the pain was completely gone. SO THANKFUL.

Must have just been hungry for Sonic.

IMG_0018 IMG_0017 IMG_0016

We get a little excited about Sonic!

This afternoon we crossed over the state line into Florida and we arrived at our hotel a few hours later.

IMG_0021 IMG_0024 IMG_0026

Now we’re ready for some Disney fun!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day One and Two: Road Trip to Disney

  1. Hopefully the rest of the trip goes smoother for you and you feel better soon! I can’t imagine not having sonic nearby! We have them on nearly every corner here! Just another reason for y’all to visit texas! Have fun at Disney!

  2. Isn’t that a blessing to have brought your 128 stuff? There are two meds I now always travel with just in case those issues come up. About 50% of the time on a trip I’ll get one or the other. But if I bring those two bottles its not a big deal at all. I’m so glad it turned out better. Yeah for a good drive!

  3. Sounds great! Except the whole scratched cornea and sick thing. I few things I need to mention. My brother Jim always would order his burgers with only lettuce and ketchup. Great minds think alike, I guess! 🙂 And loved seeing Max “unwinding”. That’s how my Caleb unwinds too! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Leave a Reply

