Family · Marriage

TGWOTY 2012

The Greatest Week of the Year is the eleven days beginning with Mike’s birthday on November 24th, including our anniversary on Nov. 30th, my birthday on December 3rd, and ending with Mini’s Adoption Day on December 4th.

I’m aware of the fact that 11 days does not equal one week. But TG11DOTY is a bit of a challenge to type when you’re in a hurry and it has been documented here on the blog that the number 11 means pause. So you never know if that would be confusing to anyone.

img_7419

I’m sure it isn’t.

Anyway, it’s TGWOTY!

After we celebrated Mike’s birthday, life fast-forwarded to Wednesday (not sure how that happened) and it was Grand Prix night at Awana.

Max’s car this year was really cool. Once again, he had some help from Dad, and Grand Prix legends, Mr. Cook and Mr. Neff (whose youngest GP car owners are now in high school). The design was all Max’s idea and he worked on it with them.

He and Mrs. C (his Awana director) were talking trash (okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration) about whose car would win, so Max set up this picture and emailed her with a simple message: It is on.

DSC_1916

Mrs. C let him know how impressed she was with his Blue Bird, but her Hello Kitty was ready to take him.

DSC_2101

At the end of the night, they raced.

DSC_2301

Bird is the word.

Back to me, though.

TGWOTY continues.

On Thursday my awesome friend, Lauren, called and asked if she could take me out for my birthday.  I quickly made spaghetti for Mike and the kids and I met Lauren for dinner. We had such a great time and were there for 2 1/2 hours talking and laughing. Thank you, Lauren!

Friday evening, Mike and I went out for our anniversary. I had terrible allergies that day and didn’t feel like going out, but I’m glad we did anyway. My mom came over to watch M & M and they made popcorn before we left. Mini was so excited, she told me she had “teached Grammy to make popcorn!”

anniversary

It’s really hard to tell that Mini is excited, isn’t it?

And now, I’m excited. It is officially my birthday.

DSC_2325

It doesn’t get more official than that. More TGWOTY to come.

6 thoughts on “TGWOTY 2012

  1. Oh my, how in the world could I forget that it’s TGWOTY?! Hope you guys had a wonderful anniversary (sorry about your killer allergies). How many years?

    And…..HAPPYYYYY BIRTHDAYYYYY!!!!!

    1. Thank you! And thank you for the cards for all the TGWOTY occasions. Always impressed that you take the time to do that for us! Love you all.

Leave a Reply

