Uncategorized

If I Could Think of an Amazing Title, It Would Go Here

Last weekend we had our Jr. High and High School retreats (I went to the JH one and Mike went to the other) and Grammy stayed here with the kids. Since I took off a year from being a leader, I seemed to have forgotten how hard we work to prepare for these weekends. And how exhausted we feel afterwards! So thankful for two awesome retreats, though. God is working – it’s incredible to be apart of that. We love it!

I re-wrote a spontaneous melodrama about King Solomon (our retreat theme was Are You Smarter Than a 5th grader and our Bible studies were on wisdom). They really got into it, it was so funny. The schedule was packed from early morning to late at night. My eyelids were seriously drooping by the end. I’m so old.

But I try to fake it.

The zip line was fun but I can’t sit here and tell you I had no fear.

I was quite afraid.

Hahaha I don’t think I fooled anyone.

Anyway, I went from the retreat to now getting ready for Thanksgiving. I’m so happy to have my family coming again this year – my mom, dad and stepmom, and stepsister and her girls. I’m following Alton Brown’s recipe again for the turkey. Yum.

This morning our friend dropped by with a present for Max. He and his son made a Captain America shield for him. They decided to do it back when Max was in the hospital. They worked on it together and just wanted to give him something to remember that experience by. When Mike told me on Sunday about it, I said “so they made it for him before church?” I was confused – had no idea what he was talking about. Had absolutely no clue that it was something made out of metal, designed and painted, sealed, and could be mounted to his wall.

It is an amazing piece of work. Max LOVES it.

After dinner tonight he asked, “may I be excused? I want to go upstairs to my room and admire my shield.” And tonight he couldn’t fall asleep because he kept looking at it.

There are these “bullets” that have magnets embedded in them that can be moved around. Max spent a good while putting them in the right positions. Tonight I talked with Max about how God gives us a shield of faith as part of our armor (Ephesians 6). Max showed enormous faith and courage when he was in the hospital, especially when he was having the hallucinations. That was literally the most intense hour of my life, even more intense than the first night when he was in the coma, because I would’ve done anything to take that frightening experience away from my son! But I’m so thankful for it, too. It became an experience he evidently remembers as a victory. He remembers asking me to say Bible verses and we both recognized that the words just came out easily and a few minutes later he was asleep and slept soundly for the rest of the night. I’m so thankful he has that memory, where we both took up our shields (and swords) in a dire situation and went into battle.

Wow. I did not expect to go there in this blog post. Sometimes that happens, though – my thoughts carry me in a wildly different direction than where I thought I was going.

It’s Thanksgiving, anyway, right? So much to be thankful for this year. God is near and He has worked in amazing ways through the people He has put in our lives.

I want to live everyday for Him, with this feeling of gratitude I have right now.

2 thoughts on “If I Could Think of an Amazing Title, It Would Go Here

Leave a Reply

