Homeschooling · Stories About Jake

Catch Up

There’s so much to catch up on.  The month of July flew by and I was (am) still reeling from Max being in the hospital.  It’s easier now, but I still find myself passing by his room on my way to bed, analyzing the sounds of his breath and instantly going back to that 911 call.  One night – just because I know this is God’s sense of humor – as I was tip toeing that four or five steps down the hall in the dark, quietly listening, Max let out a “bubba way dookie foo” or something like that in his sleep.  He has never talked in his sleep before.  It made the hairs on my neck stand up straight!

Speaking of hairs.

Max went to our favorite barber shop in July.  He was more than excited to get another mohawk.  Three summers in a row. This boy loves a tradition.

Speaking of tradition, the beginning of August means it is time to clean out cabinets, organize bookshelves, and plan for the next school year. I’ll be making a photo book for Max’s 3rd grade year, too.  He changed a lot this year!  I’m so proud of him.  We still like doing this homeschooling thing.  Of course, I had my moments and was burnt out by the end of May, but all in all, it’s a good fit for our family.  However, I need some help getting excited about the new year.  So that’s why doing the photo book is a must.  I need that creative outlet to fire me up before everything kicks in to full gear.

We still have four weeks of summer left, though.  This week I’m hoping to be productive, then the next three will be nothing but fun.  Anna (Mini’s birthmom) is coming for a visit and then our family will be headed to the beach at the end of the month. Good times ahead!

One thought on “Catch Up

Leave a Reply

