Family · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

They’re Off!

The adventurous duo are going on a road trip with Pops & Nana for a week!  Have I told you how much I love Pops & Nana?  Did I marry into a great family or what?  I told Max today that I wish I could go on this trip, it’s going to be so much fun.

But, this time, I think I’ll stay home and let them have all the fun. 🙂

The kids are SO excited.  Tomorrow morning the wheels are rollin’ bright and early toward their first destination, Atlanta!  Auntlanta, is what we call it actually.  Aunt Jen recently moved down there and they’ve been asking and asking about when they could go down to visit.

So when Nana called two weeks ago and told me they were going to drive down to visit Jen and then go on to Arkansas to visit family for a few days, she asked if they could come along.

And I hesitated to give her an answer.

For a millisecond.

The kids squealed so loudly when we told them they were going (actually, first we quietly asked Max how he felt about missing a hockey lesson, but apparently it wasn’t even the slightest issue. hmm).

Mini got out her pink Princess suitcase and packed it a week ago.  She didn’t do too badly, especially when you consider the importance of packing various crafts that were made in Mother’s Day Out, circa 2011.  I mean, what is a road trip without the essential card-stock Joseph puppet wearing his colorful dream coat?  And a lace doily in the shape of a heart?  Very important to pack that, I’d say.

Anyway, to help Mini understand that each morning she woke up wasn’t the day Pops & Nana were taking her and Max on this exciting road trip (they do know that they will be in a car for many, many hours, right??), we made a countdown construction paper chain. We started with 7 days to go.

Every morning she tore off the last link and we counted the remaining days together.  This morning, she RAN downstairs to take the second-to-last link off then pointed at the last paper link and cheered, “ONE!”

Yay!

So let me make sure I’m not dreaming.  A week by ourselves AND knowing our kids are having the time of their lives with their grandparents – whom they have a really close relationship with, always have the best time together, and I love and adore with all my heart?

They are the superheros, don’t you think?

5 thoughts on “They’re Off!

  1. Absolutely! Enjoy your awesome week! (i.e., sleep late every single day) Love the photo collage – what did you use to make it?

    1. It’s an app called Collage Creator Lite.
      I don’t know about sleeping in – Saturday morning I’m going to an early morning yard sale with a friend, but at least I can go back home to crash!

      1. Actually, it’s called Turbo Collage. It seems to have two different names, that’s weird.

  2. Okay, I get it – Collage Creator Lite is the free version that I installed before purchasing the app.

Leave a Reply

