Homeschooling · Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories About Jake

Last Tuesday

Last Tuesday was an adventurous day, to say the least.  It was a big day for both kids – Mini’s last day of Mother’s Day Out with a class pajama party with stuffed animals, french toast sticks, and a movie with popcorn and m&m’s  (no pictures…so sad) and Max’s Farm School class presentation.  In his class, there are about twenty 3rd-5th graders (homeschoolers) and all year long they have been reading the Little House series and learning an impressive amount of history to go along with the books.

For the presentation, they each wrote their own sketches for a different Little House character (Max was Mr. Edwards).  They sang some songs, recited a few McGuffey readers by heart, and then had a big picnic afterwards with tons of food.  The teacher emailed a list of what we were to bring to the picnic and I lucked out with cucumber sandwiches instead of watermelon.  I’ve never made cucumber sandwiches, so it was a bit stressful.  I cut them into flowers; I thought that would be cute.  I made 36 flowers and came home with 33.

Don’t try to count them. 😉

But oops.  I think I got the occasion mixed up.  I wasn’t going to a bridal shower.

Anyway, back to the class presentation, may I introduce to you — Mr. Edwards.

We were running late getting out the door on Tuesday morning (of course) so Mr. Edwards got himself a fast and furious facial hair makeover as soon as he finished his Frosted Flakes.  Maybe it wasn’t worthy of an Academy Award, but Max was pleased with the result.  Halfway to the farm, however, he questioned my choice of a light brown pencil instead of a dark one.  But it didn’t matter once we arrived.  The kids in his class went crazy with positive things to say and the rest of the morning was a total success.

It started with this

Included a little bit of this

And, after games outside in the off-and-on light rain, and a hike with the class to a creek, it ended like this

He was in farm school heaven that day.

But his smell was not heavenly.

So.  The adventurous Tuesday continues. Picture this.  Max has just been playing in a creek, is barefoot, and has funky looking thick eyebrows and a five o’clock shadow.  We pick up Mini from Mother’s Day Out and she is in pajamas.  Meanwhile, it starts to drizzle and grey clouds are quickly moving overhead like a summer storm is on its way.

And my driver’s side car window is down.  And stuck there.

Luckily, our mechanic told me to swing on by and he’d take a look at it.  He wasn’t able to get the part he needed that day, but got hold of the window (it wasn’t a piece of cake).

Thankfully, the rain stopped and the sun came out something fierce as he worked for nearly an hour breaking a sweat and talking to me the entire time.  I was right there in the driver’s seat.

That was a bit awkward, yes.

But he taped my window shut and sent me on my way until I could come back the next morning.

A ducted tape window.  Rejected cucumber flower sandwiches.  The smell of farm and creek in my van.  My 4 year-old in pajamas at 2:00 in the afternoon.

It was quite a Tuesday.

3 thoughts on “Last Tuesday

  1. Hahaha – yes, quite an adventurous day! Love your cucumber sandwiches. 🙂 And LOOVE the picture of Max sitting on the fence. That one’s frame-worthy!

  2. I have enjoyed your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day

Leave a Reply

