Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom

Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day (which was five days ago, I can’t believe it!) started off with a fun surprise for the kids.

I stopped by Krispy Kreme late Saturday night without telling anyone.  Max is at the perfect age for this kind of surprise.  Donuts from Mom on whaat? Mother’s Day?   He gave me the perfect reaction I was hoping for.

They were both really fun and cute about Mother’s Day.  Max made me a pop-up card and Scotch-taped a roll of Smarties, and Mini made a craft at MDO with her handprints for leaves and cupcake liners for flowers.

After a wonderful church service (though the emotions hit hard at the end, as they tend to do every year) Mike and the kids took me out to lunch and gave me a free afternoon to spend with my mom.

We kept our annual tradition and toured the DC Design House mansion to see what $4 million can buy for us these days.

If you like the finer things in life and the status of a NW Washington zip code (and if you happen to have $4 million to spend), then this is the home for you.  Especially if you dig the trend of grey paint or wallpaper and pops of color (orange and turquoise were biggies).  Custom designed chandeliers and acrylic pieces were big this year too.  The house was beautiful.

My mom and I had a nice dinner afterwards and I came home to happy kids playing with friends while Mike was in the kitchen repairing the dishwasher.

Yep, that mansion was nice.  But there’s no place I love more than my own home.

Especially when I’m married to the cute handyman and I get to be these kiddos’ mom for always and forever.

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. What a wonderful way to spend the day!! What a fun tradition with your mom!! You guys are so cute together!!

Leave a Reply

