Uncategorized

How Not to Celebrate Your Birthday

Wow.  An entire week passed since my last post.  This week my mom was admitted in the hospital for reflux symptoms that she’s been dealing with for quite some time.  I went by to see her a lot, and I took the kids twice.  Now, let me tell you.  Both of my kids are like unleashed puppies whenever we visit a hospital.  I’m proud to say that Mini can now calm herself down with a bribe.  All I had to do was promise a Tootsie pop from the gift shop and she just turned it off.  It’s a beautiful day, my friends.   And all Max needs in order to be calm is a TV screen. Sometimes you just have to be thankful for that.  If the TV can be watched on a reclining bed with buttons and a remote with a personal speaker? All I can say is, it was hard to get him to leave.

On Friday my mom had surgery for a hiatal hernia (it was enormous and bless her heart, she had been trying to deal with it non-surgically to no avail).   She also had her gallbladder taken out at the same time.  She is recovering well and should be home by the end of the weekend, but the thing is, she had to spend her birthday at the hospital.  We’ll just have to have a do-over when she’s feeling better.  What I love about my mom, though, is she said this whole thing was a birthday gift.  In the midst of her trials, she’s always one to look on the bright side.  I love that about her.

Hope you feel better soon, Mom!

2 thoughts on “How Not to Celebrate Your Birthday

  1. Glad your mom is feeling better. What a miserable way to spend a birthday. Make sure you celebrate properly when she is completely recovered!
    Amazing what we discover about our kids when we are desperate, huh?

Leave a Reply

