Adoption (Open) · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Looking Back

They are close for being a whole 5 and a half years apart.  They spend a ton of time together, sometimes too much time.  They fight like brother and sister.  Protect like brother and sister.  Play.  Conspire.  Annoy.  Hurt.  Laugh.  Help.  And love.

It’s getting close to Mini’s birthday and birthdays bring back the memories and emotions.  I think about and re-live both of their adoption stories when one turns another year older.

I am so thankful.  To their birthmoms, who gave them the gift of life and made the unbelievably difficult and selfless decision to place Max and Mini for adoption.  And to our sovereign God, who created them with a purpose and plan to be in our family.

It amazes me beyond belief.

Max is such a good big brother.  He leads Mini when she needs a helping hand and assures her in words and actions that he is by her side.

How happy I am to see their relationship grow.

Yet, at the same time, I’m afraid of that word.  Grow.   I’m not quite ready for them to grow up.

But that’s when looking back, remembering how God has had His hand on them from the beginning is all the more important.

I pray that they will always do the same.

don’t worry, I was looking at her closely on those rocks!

3 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. Your family’s story is beautiful and is an inspiration and reminder to me, as well. I am ALWAYS thankful, when I ponder, that I have been so privileged to see it lived and written out. Y’all are amazing, all of you! xo

  2. Oh my goodness, Anna you have made me cry this morning. I know exactly what you mean, it is so wonderful and hard at the same time to see your little ones grow up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

