Stories About Anna

Bday Surprise

Mike came home from work yesterday and surprised me with an early birthday present.

I can’t stop laughing at this deer-caught-in-the-headlights look I have.  But as you can see, I was definitely surprised.  I was coming down the stairs after Max showed me a gift bag that he decorated and Mike walked in the door taking pictures.

With a DSLR camera.  My new DSLR camera!!!!

Squeal!  I’ve always wanted a nice camera but thought it would be a long time before we would be the proud owners of one.  Mike truly surprised me.  I loved seeing him excited about it, too – he came home with it all put together (way better than the most beautifully wrapped box, in my opinion!) and even took the time to make me a card.

He knows I’m all about a funny card.  Without saying a single word since walking in the front door, he handed me the camera and gave me a big chuckle.

Wait, there’s more!

And just to poke fun at how my gift was pricier than his (I gave him a Switchfoot CD…which he bought himself), he added

Isn’t he such a kidder?

🙂

Thank you, Mike, for such a wonderful present.  I’m already having so much fun taking pictures and seeing what a difference a better camera makes.

I love how the colors in the background seem warmer.

And how it captures expressions of big smiles on kids in motion without blurring out (Mini was getting ready to go to Pops & Nana’s house, so of course she needed to wear two purses.)

My Canon Powershot has been good to me (I took the picture of the kids in front of the tree with it and I think it did a great job), but there’s no denying what a difference a DSLR makes.

Taken with the new camera on auto mode

Taken with the Powershot on auto mode

I’m going to have so much fun with my new camera!!

9 thoughts on “Bday Surprise

  1. LOVE LOVE it! I LOVE my DSLR! Now get thee a 50 mm fixed f1.4 lens and make your portraits amazing 🙂 Best lens out there at a reasonable price…course, maybe that is bday 2013???

    🙂
    Mary

  2. Yay yay yay!!!! So excited for you! I got a Canon Rebel before my trip last summer, and I love it too! Now if I could just figure out how to work it. 🙂 I know I could take way better pictures if I could take a class or something.

    Congrats and Happy Birthday! I know you will love it. (And I love Mike’s elaborate fancy cards. What a great husband. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

