Family

TGWOTY 2011

We are officially in The Greatest Week of the Year, friends.  I don’t know if you remember this, but the week between Thanksgiving and December 4th is all kinds of Whoop Whoop fun around here!

We’re celebrating (or have celebrated) Thanksgiving, Mike’s birthday, Thanksgiving Part Two, our 15th anniversary, my birthday, and Mini’s Adoption Day in the same week.  Well, all within 9 days (hey, that’s close enough to seven days so we’ll just call it a week, k?).

Mike’s birthday was on Thanksgiving and poor Mike, the turkey stole his spotlight and was the center of attention.  It was my first turkey and I worried myself silly over the ol’ bird all week.  But I followed Alton Brown’s recipe and it was so, so, so good.  There were a lot of steps, but it was still relatively easy.  I bought a frozen Butterball on sale and didn’t know you weren’t supposed to brine a Butterball (because it is pre-brined…found that out after I started the process and went about 25 kinds of crazy for a moment, but it turned out delicious.  It brined for 13 hours and the flavors were so good.

I like Alton Brown’s method of turning up the heat to 500 for the first 30 minutes.  Here’s a picture of the turkey at that time – look how pretty and brown it is.  I was excited!

I put on the triangular breastplate of foil (thank you Alton Brown for your amusing videos) and put it back in the oven at 350.  When it was done I wanted to sing, it was so beautiful.  I probably did sing.

I knew Mike was only a few seconds away from carving it here, but I wanted a picture. No time to mess around with setting up the perfect photo op.  We were too hungry for fancy presentations (plus, Mike had a sharp knife in his hand.  I listen to that.)  But see? MY FIRST TURKEY!!

Mike didn’t mind sharing the spotlight of his birthday to 13 pounds of poultry.  He had a good one and we all (my mom, dad, step-mom, step-sister, her kids and the four of us) had a wonderful time eating, talking, and playing games.

TGWOTY was off to a great start!



One thought on “TGWOTY 2011

  1. YAY for your first turkey! I made my first one this year, too! It wasn’t nearly as pretty as yours, but was still moist and tender and yummy, so I counted it a success. 🙂

    Wow, your mom and step-mom at the same Thanksgiving? That’s awesome! 🙂

    Happy TGWOTY!!

Leave a Reply

