Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom

A-ha

Our plans to have a field trip to the C&O Canal on Friday were rained out, but Max was elated to hear that we’d still be taking the day off from school.  We all lounged around in our pajamas while I tried to figure out what we should do with our day.

Aren’t those slippers super cute?  They were a gift and the kids love them – they even made up a story about a shark and a mermaid and acted it out for me.  Only a few toes were hurt in the creative process.

We had to make a quick dash to the grocery store for milk – getting drenched of course – and forgot the milk of course – but after a stop at the convenience store we made it home. Max excitedly went downstairs to start building Lego sets that he got for his birthday and all I wanted to do was sit on the couch and be lazy.  But Mini was not in the mood to be lazy.

She was all about the “rainy day” ideas.

We played and pretended, read books, and baked cookies.  She had me to herself and she was not going to run out of ideas on how to spend the time.  The funny thing is, she missed her brother so much.  Every time we started to play something new, she went downstairs to tell him.  And something about how she played kinda told me that she really did want him around.

We built a blanket fort that Star Wars Cinderella would be proud of.

She finally zonked out under those blankets for a mid-afternoon nap.  I didn’t think her energy would ever run out.  I wiped the sweat off my brow, breathed a sigh of relief and looked at the clock.  I’d have at least an hour to myself.

Did I spend that time wisely and fit in a workout to recharge my own energy?  Call a friend for some much-needed adult conversation?  Fold the mountain of laundry that came out of the dryer that morning?  Nope.  Turned on the TV and spilled my Coke Zero.

(But I cleaned it up all by myself.)

(Read: all. by. myself.)

Our weekend followed suit and we spent a lot of time hanging around the house.  While Max built his Lego sets and listened to Adventures in Odyssey, I spent more one-on-one time with Mini.  I often miss them, but God gave me another one of those a-ha moments that this time with her was a gift, so I tried to enjoy every minute.  She directed the show and we played and played.  Yet, I am so exhausted and don’t feel like anything else got done around the house.

But that’s okay.  This is the ongoing mantra in my head right now.  It’s worth a mountain of laundry to not miss her grow up.

That’s not really the mantra.  I just thought of that and I’m not quite sure if it’s poetic or not, but there you have it.

In other words, weekends like this don’t last for long.

2 thoughts on “A-ha

  1. I think your mantra is perfect–one which I need to remember. She’ll always remember that Mama made time–or took time–to play. 🙂

    That said, I’m glad our A. is old enough to play more games–especially games that don’t make me want to bang my head against the wall in boredom.

    I’ve been wondering about Adventures in Odyssey–you can listen on the computer right? Or buy CDs? I’ve heard good things about them and it’s good to know Max likes them. Maybe I’ll check them out for A.

Leave a Reply

