Stories About Anna · Stories about Emmie · Tree Nut Allergies

Allergy Results Plus A Long Intro Paragraph. Hey, That’s Two Posts in One!

This week the kids are at Pops and Nana’s house having the time of their lives at Grandparents’ Week.  They’ve painted bird houses, gone to a state park that has a beach and swimming area, rode a pony, and watched Scooby Doo and Cinderella to their heart’s content.

While I miss them like crazy, I don’t think I need to tell you that my week has been gloriously quiet!  It’s also been productive and I’ve chipped away at a long to-do list, which has put me in a great mood for the beginning of school.  Mostly because I went to Target by myself and watched the Back-to-School shopping frenzy from the view of my latte.  Actually, I didn’t have a latte but that’s how relaxed I felt strolling around by myself.

I’ve grocery shopped alone, cleaned the entire house, made dinner, read a book by the pool, went for a run, met up with girlfriends to watch The Help, and slept in.

And I have two more days of this.

Ahhh, so far it’s been a great week.

********

I took Mini to get her blood drawn last Thursday and she did great.  We practiced the day before and I put on Band-aid after Band-aid telling her how they make her feel better right away.  She was more than willing to decorate herself with pictures of Phineas, Ferb and Perry the Platypus.  They went well with her ensemble of pink she chose for the doctor’s visit.

I kept the part about the needle out of our pretend game.  Nah, who needs to go into details?  I think that was a good call and luckily, she had a great phlebotomist who was quick.  Mini simply said, “ow, that hurts” and waited for her bandage and sticker.  She didn’t cry at all and was happy with the news that we would go to McDonald’s afterwards.

Later at home, when I was putting her down for a nap and reading her a story, she came unglued and cried a lot.  She had gone through quite a bit that morning and I cherished being the one to hold and comfort her.  I really needed that time, as well.

It only took a few days to get the results back from the doctor.  We found out that she is allergic to pecans and had reactions to all the other tree nuts, too.  I was relieved to know clear answers and also glad that I had three weeks to prepare for this announcement.  I was no longer sad to think about how her experiences in life would be altered just because of food allergies; I was ready to deal with it and be okay with it.

The doctor told us to avoid all tree nuts (pecans, almonds, pistachios, walnuts, cashews, hazelnuts, pine nuts, brazil nuts, etc) completely because it will likely cause a reaction like she had before (or worse).  She only had a bite of one (not even swallowing it) yet her breathing was affected in addition to getting hives and some swelling.

Carrying an epi-pen wherever we go, and making sure teachers or caretakers have one, is a must.  She was also tested for peanuts but isn’t allergic to them, thank goodness.  Peanuts aren’t actually nuts, they are legumes and while many people are allergic to both, they are two different food allergies.

A lot of people allergic to tree nuts choose to avoid peanuts too, since they may cross-contaminate with nuts on the manufacturing belts.  But Mini hasn’t shown any symptoms when eating peanut butter or candy with peanuts so the doctor didn’t feel it was necessary to restrict it from her diet.

I’ve got my reading cut out for me and a lot to take in about the subject. Now that we know, I have a lot to learn.

Trusting that God will equip me and give us discernment, I just want to do whatever it takes to keep my little girl safe.

6 thoughts on “Allergy Results Plus A Long Intro Paragraph. Hey, That’s Two Posts in One!

  1. Its a bummer to have the allergies but if you know what is needed to be healthy then it is all worth it. You can still enjoy life without nuts, pretty easily in fact. Here’s to a nut free future!!!

  2. So glad the test results were so clear cut. I know that puts your mind at ease. I know you will do great with this! And….YAY for a week alone! Isn’t it blissful? I remember when I first changed my work schedule to have Fridays off and was able to go to the grocery store alone for the first time. You would have thought I was at the spa! 😉 For weeks I just kept going, “Oh, LORD, this is awesome! Thank You!” Enjoy the rest of your week!

  3. Aw sweet Mini. That last picture brought tears to my eyes. So thankful you have some answers now. And yahoo for mommy vacations. Must deserved and I hope your last 2 days are great!

  4. Glad to hear that you are having a great week and that the test confirmed the allergy. Let me know how I can help. Avoiding nuts (especially when it’s not peanuts) isn’t that difficult, but avoiding the cross contamination can be a pain. If there’s anything you want to learn to do from scratch, let me know.

  5. Enjoy your vacation too! Isn’t it glorious just to sit in the quiet and do the simple things like shop in Target by yourself?! So glad you know what to watch out for with the allergies and although it is a pain to have to read every label thoroughly it will become second nature soon enough.

Leave a Reply

