Sincerely Shredding · Stories About Anna

Maintaining Weight Loss

Remember the time when I wouldn’t stop talking about weight loss for three months straight?  And how, on August 12, 2010 (what? you don’t remember the exact date?) this mommy blogger whooped and hollered across the blogosphere that I met my goal of shredding 20 pounds?

Well.  It’s been a year.  And there have been a few ups and downs, but I’m happy to report I’ve been successful in keeping those unwanted pounds off.

I haven’t talked much about it recently, but this milestone is a big deal.  Huge.  Here I am, a whole year later, and I don’t even recognize that mama in that first picture.  I see someone who is so happy on the outside, but was in denial about many things in her life, starting with the fact that exercise wasn’t in her vocabulary.

And eating like a teenager was.

Now, I don’t want to give that Anna such a hard time.  She was, after all, very sensitive about her weight, even when she was a teenager.  There’s a long history of not feeling good about her appearance and not measuring up to her own idea of what beauty looked like.

She was even more sensitive about her athletic ability, or lack thereof, and always hid behind her uncoordinated self, thinking sports just wasn’t her “thing.”

So, instead of giving that Anna a hard time, I’m celebrating what she’s accomplished in the last year and where she is today.  I’m pretty darn proud of her.

It’s easier to do that in third person.  Please bear with me.

She weighs a healthy 140 pounds and that puts her in a size 8 at Costco (where she shops for everything from pants to mattresses) and a size small or size 6 at Ann Taylor Loft (bonus points to the Loft, because whoohoo! size 6).

More importantly than the number, she is enjoying what it feels like to be healthy and strong.

She eats what she wants to eat.  She never thought she’d say that when talking about maintaining weight loss!  But here’s the deal: she actually does want to eat healthy and take a smaller piece of cake than before.  She still loooooves sweets and salt, but it’s weird how her brain has changed and the portions have just gotten smaller yet she still feels full.

She enjoys exercise.  Not freakishly.  But yeah, that’s been a crazy change too.  She works out for 30 minutes 3 times a week (no place fancy – in the living room with a mat, and 4 lb weights, watching a 9″ portable DVD player perched on the couch).  The 30 Day Shred is still her favorite because it combines cardio and strength training and it’s still a hard workout (!) but she likes a variety of DVDs.  Once a week she’ll get out and run a couple of miles.  Her schedule doesn’t allow for much else right now, nor does her babysitting budget.  The biggest difference from where she was prior to May 2010 is this:  if two days go by without doing anything fitness related, she notices how poorly she feels.  Then she does something to feel better.

And, lastly, she wants to keep it up.

Thank you SO MUCH for cheering me on.  I could not have been successful without your encouragement, I mean that.  I feel so blessed to have friends in person and here online who encourage me.  I also want to thank Ann at She’s Gonna Blow!!!! (who is awesome at leaving comments!) and Kris at Eclipsed for blogging about their weight loss and exercise journeys.  I continue to be so inspired by them.  Ann is apart of a support system called Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans that offers fun short-term challenges and Kris includes lots of links to articles, which I have found so helpful.

Again, thank you.  And thank you, God, for keeping me healthy and injury-free and giving me the umph to do this!

9 thoughts on “Maintaining Weight Loss

  1. Wow–has it been a year?!?! Wow.

    You have done a fabulous job of sticking with it and now your new habits are just part of your lifestyle–so YAY.

    That means there’s hope, right? 🙂

  2. I can’t believe it’s been a year already!
    Good for you sista!!
    You look awesome and (even better) you’ve figured out your relationship with food and exercise.
    You inspire me, friend!

  3. Anna, I’m so proud of you for maintaining your weight loss and changing your life for a whole year! It’s amazing how exercise and eating right can change your life so much! Thanks for the shout out! You are such an inspiration to me, too! I will someday be at a point where I can say I am in maintenance mode!

Leave a Reply

