Uncategorized

W, X, Y, and Z

I’m wrapping up this alphabet meme that I started THREE MONTHS AGO.  On a scale of zero to ten, my boredom with this meme is somewhere between ten and ten thousand.  But here we are on the letter W, which is so close to the end!

Whew.

W is for Wednesday.  I love Wednesdays this summer.  I joined a Bible Study at MOPS (Me, Myself, and Lies by Jennifer Rothschild) and it’s all about cleaning out our thought closets, getting rid of the negative self-talk and faulty assumptions that don’t line up with the way God sees us.  I’m finding out that my closet could use an overhaul, which is not such a wonderful learning process.  But a good one, nonetheless.

Speaking of closets (the other kind), I also love Hump Day because of What I Wore Wednesday hosted by The Pleated Poppy.  What’s not to love?  Looking at pictures of regular, everyday people who are putting outfits together.  I have a lot to learn here too!

This past Wednesday was extra cool because my dad came over for dinner.  And by came over for dinner, I mean we drove to our favorite Mexican restaurant.  We had ourselves a wonderful fiesta at 5 o’clock being the only customers in the place.  If only there were words that started with W in Spanish, I’d put them here!

******

X is for x-ray.  And X marks the spot.  Weird story, but I was in a radiologist office the other day waiting for a friend who had an appointment when the Casey Anthony verdict was delivered live on TV.  I had a crazy feeling of deja vu as I remembered that I was in that very same place 16 years ago when the OJ Simpson verdict was read.  It was the same office where I used to work and I hadn’t stepped foot in that building in years.

****

Y is for YouTube.  I like showing the kids the videos that I’ve uploaded for the blog (here) and watching them is a sure way to get me to laugh and cry all at the same time.  They are growing up way too fast.

By the way, I think it’s hilarious to see what videos get the biggest hits from the public.  As you can see, I’ve had a whopping number of views 🙂  Being famous on the internet has its downfalls, though.  For instance, there have been 14 people who have given Musical Doodle the thumbs down.  Don’t they know that Max sang that for me as a birthday present?

****

Z – finally Z! – is for Zefa, the child that we sponsor through Compassion International.  Zefa is almost 7 years old and lives in Indonesia.  We LOVE writing to her and receiving letters in return.  You should see the excitement on Max and Mini’s faces when we get a letter.  They adore her.  Mini will ask if Zefa can come over for a playdate.  I’ve heard about other sponsor families growing very attached over the years and I believe that will be the case with us.  We pray for her often and the kids bring her up in conversation at the most unexpected times. It’s been a good way to talk about loving people who are in need and sacrificing some comforts here in our cushiony lives to help her have some basic things like an education, school supplies, a safe place to be during the day, and learn about Jesus.  In the last letter, Zefa’s grandma asked if she may address me as “Mama Anna” and I had to wipe away tears.  She is very special.

Have you ever thought about sponsoring a child in need?  You can learn more about it here.

Okay, kids.  That’s it – we made it to the end of the alphabet.

zzzzzzz And if you’re still here, thank you for joining me 🙂

5 thoughts on “W, X, Y, and Z

  1. First, I applaud your commitment and stick-to-it-ness to the Alphabet Meme. I’d probably fizzle out somewhere around E or F. 🙂

    My girlfriends & I did Me, Myself & Lies last year and thoroughly enjoyed it–in an uncomfortable, ouch sort of way. I hate giving into my negative thoughts–Satan wins!

    I love how your dad *came over* for dinner, that’s totally how we’d do it too. 🙂

  2. So glad you stuck with it and finished out the meme. It was fun learning more about you, the kids and the stuff that fill your days! I keep hearing about that Bible Study…sounds like a tough one but one that I would greatly benefit from.
    Love the picture of Mike and Mini!!

  3. Proud of you for sticking with it! I enjoyed learning more about you through the alphabet! I’ve done Me Myself and Lies three times. Love it so much. Probably need to do again. And again and again! Whew is right!

  4. Yay for your alphabet meme! Notice I haven’t even started yet. 🙂 And weird about the x-ray office deja vu!

    1. I am brain dead from traveling 2300 miles in just over a week. I didn’t even say that I loved your ABC meme! I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

