Uncategorized

He Promises to Comfort

Our friends, who serve in ministry with us, welcomed their first baby last Wednesday.  We were excitedly awaiting the email but didn’t expect the shocking words we would read.  Their precious baby boy was sent to the NICU and all week long, prayers were earnestly lifted up for God to save his life.  This afternoon we learned that he was taken home to be with the Lord.  We prayed for a miracle yet God did not answer in the way that we wanted for this family and it hurts so much.  But we are also amazed at the outpouring of love and comfort that He has given.

I will always remember Gregory Michael.  Our entire church body was touched by this baby boy’s life and the testimony of his parents, who lived out their faith in the midst of the darkest hours anyone could imagine.  Their grief is heavy on my heart tonight.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.”  2 Corinthians 1:3

13 thoughts on “He Promises to Comfort

  1. I just learned that a childhood friend passed away from cancer this morning leaving a husband and children. She was just a year younger than me and I was immediately transported back to our early years; sunrise services on Easter; Christmas cantatas and concerts; years and years of memories. This same family lost one of their two sons, in a motorcycle accident just a month after we graduated and the day before I left for college. The heartbreak this family has experienced is tremendous, and yet, they praise! I am in absolute awe of the way they have walked their faith out in the midst of extreme loss and grief, and what a sweet example they have set before me.

    I will be praying for your friends during this most difficult of seasons. I have found that the best thing to say is “I’m sorry” and the best thing to do is simply open your arms. (And show up in the next fewweeks with frozen meals.)

    I am praying for you too, Anna, as your minister to your friends, meeting them where they are at. May God’s comfort and peace surround them as only His grace and goodness can do.

    I’m so sorry…

  2. Prayers are with this special family during this hard and grievous time. May the Lord continue to be with them and comfort them.

  3. Oh Anna, I am so very sorry for your loss. What a heartbreaking situation. I cannot even begin to imagine. Your friends and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I’m tearing up as I type.

    I also cannot believe the timing of reading this sad news– right before I read this, I was reading another favorite blog (Joy’s Hope: http://www.joyshope.com/) where she just published a post as a guest blogger at Life Rearranged about “What to Do When a Friend Loses a Baby” (http://liferearranged.com/2011/06/what-to-dosay-when-a-friend-experiences-loss-infant-lossmiscarriage/).

    Julie lost her first child when Joy was stillborn at 40 weeks 7+ years ago. She used her blog to get input from others before writing the guest post. The comments to this post (http://www.joyshope.com/2011/05/help-wanted.html) may be really helpful, too.

    If you can handle more sadness, I think it is amazingly well written and helpful. Made me think about all the people in my life I need to love on a little more.

  4. We are praying for this family and your church family as well. Our hearts are heavy for this family and the heartache they are experiencing. Praying the Lord would cover them with His love.

  5. Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

  6. Anna, I just returned from my mission trip and just read your post today. I’m so very sorry for you and your friends. Praying with Renata that our God of hope will fill you with His comfort and peace. Praying for you now, friend.

Leave a Reply

