Homeschooling

N is for Nine Planets. Scratch That, Eight Planets.

We are ending our solar system unit by studying Neptune, Uranus (oh good grief, we can’t say that with a straight face in our house), and little dwarf planet, Pluto.  The other day we made a solar system out of sugar cookies, which was my lazy way of hands-on learning that didn’t require a trip to Michaels or Wal-Mart.  Sugar cookies are way better than styrofoam balls, right?

I promised to make the cookies for weeks and then on the day we actually did it, I started the baking right before Mini woke up from her nap.  So, in other words, planning was neglected.  Story of my life.  Wow, did it turn into a major production in the kitchen!

But it was fun, nonetheless.

And it proved, once again, that learning is fun.  That’s one of my non-negotiables for homeschooling.  It has to be fun and I can say without a doubt, this year has been our most fun yet.

5 thoughts on “N is for Nine Planets. Scratch That, Eight Planets.

  1. learning must be FUN or it may be learned but not retained!! I mean how much do we remember from school?? I don’t remember much that’s for sure!! What a great way to do the solar system!

  2. I definitely agree cookies are much better than styrofoam balls! I love that you engage your kids in FUN learning! 🙂

  3. “Uranus (oh good grief, we can’t say that with a straight face in our house), ”

    Have you watched the Magic School Bus space episode? They pronounce Uranus differently (sounds more like urine-us, either way it sounds funny). But there IS a scene in it that has a pun with the way they’re NOT pronouncing it. I started laughing and the kids had no idea why 😉

    BTW, it is so good to have an unscheduled summer, isn’t it. It’s exactly what I needed too.

Leave a Reply

