Stories About Anna

Right Now I Am

Having some major blogger’s block but I’m sure if I just start writing I’ll come up with some things to share and update you on.  I apologize in advance for the way these thoughts won’t string together at all.

The first week of regularly scheduled activities was a big adjustment.  I should’ve known.  I know I’m spreading myself thin right now and I’m not sure why I said yes to so many things this semester.  I keep telling myself that a lot of moms do this.  They run around like crazy, wear a dozen different hats for all the kids they have (more than my 2), and serve in ministries so they can use their gifts and roll up their sleeves where needed.

I am chronically confused about this when it comes to being the mom that God has called me to be, though.  My first priority, I believe, should be the ministry of my husband and kids.  With little kids, especially, that means time, time, time.  But I also want to share the load and serve in the church.  I enjoy doing that.  It’s not a “have to” situation, at all.  Our church family is so awesome and affirms that family comes first, even for someone who is married to the ministry (a phrase that The Preacher’s Wife often uses.  I loved her book, by the way.)

I just wrote three paragraphs to elaborate but, really, I have an idea that you all know what I’m saying.

I’m praying for wisdom on this matter, that’s all.

****

On a completely different topic, I’m happy to report that I lost the 5 pounds again that I gained on our beach trip.  I started a new workout routine using the Biggest Loser DVDs (Cardio Max and Power Sculpt) and they are easier than the 30 Day Shred but still kick my butter like nobody’s business.  SO MANY LUNGES!

I watched the season premiere of the show last Monday and cried.  I’m already emotionally attached to the contestants, especially Sophia who lives in Maryland.   Are you watching the show?

I’m trying to lose just a few more pounds.  It would be great to say 25 pounds and, oh!, if I lost 28 pounds I would be at the same weight I was on my wedding day.  Which, of course, didn’t last long but I remember how I felt at that weight.

So I have a few goals in mind but I’m willing to get there slowly and surely.  Right now MyPlate says I can lose 1 pound a week if I keep my calories around 1,800 per day.  I’m feeling motivated since I know I can do it if I just stay disciplined with a healthy diet and daily exercise.  That word daily is key.  Oh, and the word healthy too.

I was also motivated the other night when I went shopping for a new pair of jeans.  I bought two new pair and now I’m invested so there’s no going back!

And I ran a 9.6 minute mile (if that’s slow, don’t burst my bubble!) and I want to keep that energy and strength up, it feels great.  I ran the mile in high school in 10:41 and was the second to last girl to finish in my PE class.  It would be nice to go back and tell that girl it’s not a big deal; she’ll be in better shape in 20 years. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Right Now I Am

  1. I am not sure that I have ever run a mile, and have no idea what a good time is…wish I could run, but it wouldn’t be good for my knee. Anyway, I am impressed that you remembered your time from high school!

    I am now down 16 pounds (as of last Monday)…woo-hoo!!!

  2. Pace yourself dear one!

    I, too, believe that my ministry, the one I’ve been called to, is serving my immediate family and the Lord has blessed that calling — that is not to say that there aren’t days that I long for Him to lead me to a third world country without running water or electricity because I’m convinced it would be easier!

    When I am overwhelmed, I am often led back to Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.” Basically, I interpret that to mean “Stop, look and listen. I will show you the way…”

    There have been so many times that I have said yes, knowing full well that there was a need and that I could fill it — but sometimes, I also knew, in my heart of hearts, that I was not the person He needed, intended for the job. The lesson, the teaching, the learning was not always intended for me… Sometimes … I get in HIS way!

    I have also learned that it is easier, extremely easy, to get overwhelmed by committing to good things … including, ESPECIALLY, God’s work. The need is tremendous and while we definitely need to serve, are commanded to serve, we also need to keep our priorities and motives clear when doing so. As a result, I have learned to ask my self “What are your motives for saying yes? Are they pure?” before I commit.

    I am not trying to discourage you from fulfilling your committments, or continuing to serve. I’m just suggesting that you “stop, look and listen!” I want you to keep your joy, “the joy of the Lord.” that He has placed in your heart. Mike needs you to keep the homefires burning. (NOT LITERALLY, ANNA! HEHE!) He needs a rested, attentive and present wife to help bear his burdens; to lessen his load. And … those babies? Homeschooling and toddlerdom, it isn’t for wimps.

    Bottom line … life is a series of seasons. If you find, after much thought, prayer and discussions with Mike, that you have to take a “Mommy time out” for now so that you can care for your family, please remember that it won’t always be that way.

    For almost eighteen years, I’ve been home, serving along the way, as called and lead, but always keeping my family as my first priority. But … and this is BIG .. the Lord is showing me now that the season dedicated to home is coming to an end and that he used those years to prepare me for the next big thing he is preparing me for. It’s an exciting time! For such a time as this…

    Praying for wisdom, clarity and direction. It’s a prayer I know well…

    1. Thanks, Destiny. I emailed you a response but it was returned so I must have an old address. If you get this, can you update your email in the fill-in form or click on Email Me at the top right. Thanks, friend. I appreciate your advice!

  3. You are right to pray for wisdom. I would love to say that when your children are young you should be at home, with them and have no other priorities/obligations – really, having a couple kids and a husband is plenty to keep a girl busy with all the laundry and cooking and grocery shopping. But God sometimes calls us to minister in ways that are out of our home, out of our comfort zone, or just way out there! And He uses those times of calling in our lives to minister to our children, even though we may feel that we are “neglecting” them. I don’t understand it, but I know it happens. So pray, pray hard for balance and wisdom. God will show you just where you should be involved and give you everything you need to get it all done.

    I’ll pray for you too.

    And you ROCK – back down 5! 🙂

Leave a Reply

