Stories About Jake

Max’s Birthday

She gets the award: Worst Tooth Fairy ever.  After posting about the lost front tooth on both Facebook and here on the ol’ blawg, the Tooth Fairy forgot to come last night.

I guess she can have an off day, sure.  But on my son’s birthday?

She’s fired, that’s all there is to it.

But, if there could be a silver lining to this, Max was pretty easy going about it.  He questioned the Tooth Fairy and her forgetfulness but gave her a chance to redeem herself.  In fact, I think that was his idea.  She felt bad for letting him down.  But $2.00 instead of the standard $1 covered the sin.  She did pause to consider leaving a $5 or even a $10 bill.  But then she remembered how loose that other front tooth is.  And how she wanted to eat lunch at the food court later.

On the requested birthday menu this day was: a donut for breakfast,

a McDonald’s lunch at the mall with a surprise visit from Dad,

Hey, what are you doing here?

and my specialty for dinner: SpongeBob Mac & Cheese and a Carvel cake for dessert.

That’s a lot of junk food in one day!  But that’s the way we like it.  Or so I try to tell myself.  I guess the whole tooth fairy thing got the better of my sense.  I even made blue Jell-o with gummy worms.  Crazy!

Good thing someone was looking out for our nutritional needs.  Max got a surprise delivery from his Aunt Jen.  Vitamins!  Come on in!

Also at the door was a surprise from Aunt Valerie and family.  Max was beside himself with happiness.

I think it turned out to be a pretty good birthday.

Even if there was a minor accident in the kitchen while I was slaving over the boxed macaroni & cheese.

On the bright side, Max was so hyped up on sugar that he jumped up quickly to help.

Either that or he’s getting used to coming to my rescue.




6 thoughts on “Max’s Birthday

  1. Only you would stop to take a picture of spilled milk! I love it. lol My Mom dropped a whole gallon the other day. Oops. And hey, with that missing tooth, he looks like a Jack-O-Latern, just in time for Halloween! 😀

  2. Haha, yep. Had to get the camera first before cleaning up. It helped me see the humor in it instead of crying. Of course, I did want to cry…especially when little feet started walking in it and the door bell rang. Never a dull moment!

    It was the whole gallon for me, too. I dropped it and it seemed to explode!

Leave a Reply

