Uncategorized

Five for Friday

1.  I should wait to post this one as a Tiny Talk entry but we’ll be at the beach on Tuesday.  Today Mini did the funniest thing.  She took my arm and took a big whiff and said, “you smell like brown.”  I have no idea what she meant by that but you gotta ask, right?  I wonder if she noticed a difference in our skin tones, but she is only 2, so none of our conversation made much sense.  I asked if it smelled good and she said yes.  So there you have it.  I smell like brown.  And brown smells good.

This story really makes me laugh because one time, many years ago, Mike and I were with friends playing a highly competitive game of Taboo.  It was just the girls vs. the guys and there were only four of us playing.  High pressure.  I think I was standing and waving my arms like mad every time it was my turn.  I hate to lose at Taboo.  The word on the card was Orange and my friend, Becky, was giving me clues:  “It’s a color that you eat,” she said.  I shouted back, “BROWN!” and we just about fell over from laughing so hard.

2.  I ran the distance around the neighborhood lake last night.  1.25 miles.  Mike and the kids walked so they could meet me on the path and they were the greatest cheering section you could imagine when we saw each other.  It made me feel so good.  Mike said I didn’t look like I was dying (which I specifically asked of him when we got back home) so that’s a good thing.  I’m pretty exhausted and sore today so the dying part is still in question.

3.   I just finished Mary Beth Chapman’s book, Choosing the SEE.  What an amazing book.  It wasn’t what I expected and there were so many details shared that I found myself in awe over how God has been writing their story all these years.  Much of the book was written about her life, not the tragedy alone of losing Maria in the driveway of their home two years ago.  I’m so glad she had the courage to write the book.  She’s so lighthearted, too, (not about the suffering, just about the good memories) and as I was relaying stories to Mike, he poked fun of me for how I talked about her.  Like she was my friend in real life and I was there for one of her adventurous stories.  But that’s how attached I got!  I can laugh at myself too for being that way!  The book is a quick-read.  I finished it in a few days and it leaves you feeling so much hope in your heart.

4.  Max got a little dinosaur excavation kit at Chuck E. Cheese with some of his tickets he won from the birthday party.  Here he is hard at work digging out the bones.  By the time he was ready for a break from it, he was covered head to toe (literally) in dust.

I think he has officially decided not to become an archaeologist.  I don’t know too many archaeologists who leave the site when the bones are finally discovered because they were hungry for a peanut butter sandwich.  But then again, I don’t really know any archaeologists.

5.  Last but not least, tomorrow I am taking Mini to see an allergist to confirm her dog allergy.  It would be nice to know for sure if she has one and to also find out what else she is allergic to.  Poor thing, she can sneeze some big sneezes out of that little button nose.

On that note, I’ll end this and tell you that I’m going to be away from the blog for a while.  We’ll be enjoying the good life of sand, sun, and more birthday fun in Hilton Head.  See you soon!

4 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. Have fun at the beach. You will probably smell really really good when you get back and have a wonderful tan 🙂 And great job on the running. I am actually noticing a little difference when walking up my stairs to my house now. It is a little easier. 🙂 Thanks Jillian! 🙂

  2. 🙂 You have a great time on the beach – just think how great you’ll look in your suit after all this work you’ve done! Yay you!

    Little Man has had a couple of those dig-a-something-out-of-a-block-of-plaster kits; he loves them so much. He loves them almost as I dislike them . . . because I’m not smart like you, and I didn’t make him take it outside! Duh!

Leave a Reply

