Sincere Attempts at Being Domestic · Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories About Jake

Sweet

At some point on Thursday I’ll post about my weight loss progress but I have to tell you something.  I may not have been able to stand up under temptation this week.

Max and I have been looking at his scrapbooks at night and playing a little game.  I’d point to a photo and he’d tell me the story behind it.  I was amazed at all the details he has remembered!  And these new memories of us paging through the books are so special, too.  We laugh hard and it’s such a good bonding time.

This morning he came up to me and asked (as sweet as can be) if we could make cookies together.  There were pictures of Max with me in the kitchen making different things from pretzels to goo, but most of the pictures were of us baking cookies.  It’s been a long time since he’s shown any interest in baking with me.

It felt good and right to make it happen today and yep, worth every sugary calorie I consumed.  Which was a lot.  But let’s not speak of this until tomorrow when you, my blog, hold me accountable to my weight loss goal.

“Sour cream is in sugar cookies??”

This bread tube worked pretty well as a cookie cutter.  He thought Mini would be surprised to wake up to a flower cookie just for her (I love how thoughtful he is)

Not that he was only making them for her, though.  I asked him what color icing we should make.  “Doesn’t matter to me, it’s ICING!”

I frosted some pink flowers too but the buttercream wasn’t as smooth.

It didn’t matter to me, either.

My Granny’s Sugar Cookies (the diet batch…meaning it only makes about 2-3 dozen)

1 stick butter

1 c. sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

(beat together on high speed)

In separate bowl, mix together:

3 1/4 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

Measure 1/2 c. sour cream

Alternate sour cream and dry mixture to blend with first four ingredients.  Bake at 400 for about 8 minutes for a softer cookie.  Cool and frost with buttercream frosting (I use the Domino’s confectionary sugar recipe on the back of the box).  Store in airtight container. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Sweet

  1. I love that he wanted to surprise her with a cookie. It is so wonderful to see how they love one another, isn’t it? Darling post, darling kiddos. I will be baking with my Beanie next week – thanks for reminding me to do it! Good luck with your weight loss tomorrow! Honestly I find that sometimes when I do something weird like eat a bunch of cookie dough it rejiggers my metabolism and I lose more than ever. (But I don’t do it often!)

  2. That’s so sweet (ha!) to want to bake cookies with you–love that! Totally worth any and all sugar calories to enjoy them together. I bet Mini was surprised to wake up and have a flower cookie made especially for her (he IS quite thoughtful).

    Thanks for the sharing the recipe too. I’ve been wanting to try one that makes soft sugar cookies and one that doesn’t make enough for an army (because I’d eat most of them).

    His frosting color comment made me snicker!

Leave a Reply

