Sincerely Shredding

Week 8

Hey – I lost 3.2 pounds this week!

This means I’ve lost 16.8 pounds, only 3.2 pounds away from my goal!

Some random thoughts at this part in the game:

My main goal starting out was to change my lifestyle.  I wanted to try to love fitness and healthier eating without going crazy on a diet that I couldn’t maintain.  Not just to lose weight but because it was just a better way of living.  Mike has been an incredible example to me in getting into shape through martial arts, and I wanted exercise to be something we had in common, not just “his” thing.  We are a couple, after all.

However, I knew I couldn’t do this for any other reason except for myself.  What scared me, though, was I’ve never been athletic or especially coordinated.  The 30 Day Shred really freaked me out in the beginning.  Jillian Micahels really freaked me out in the beginning.  I couldn’t do a single manly-man push-up when I started.

But here I am, transforming into someone who actually likes fitness now.  I finished the 30 Day Shred and started it all over again!  I love the workout.  I can do 10 manly-man push-ups now and I feel myself getting stronger.  My posture is better, too.  I also love the Yoga Meltdown by Jillian.  I put in the DVD every 4th day, after alternating through the 3 levels of the 30DS.  The yoga makes the plank exercises more bearable in the Shred and helps build a stronger core (which makes all physical activity in life more bearable), not to mention helps with balance.

Heh, I’m still waiting on that balance part.  It’s laughable, really.

******

I’m absolutely addicted to inputing what I eat into the free MyPlate program.  I put it on my Bookmarks bar, right next to my iGoogle tab so I can easily view it at least a thousand times a day.  Have you tried this?  I think it’s fun (but I’m a big dork).  I have learned a lot about how many calories/fat/sugar/sodium, etc is in the foods I regularly eat, which has helped me creatively cut back on them to stay within my calorie goal.

For example, I love love love Cool Ranch Doritos.  Have you ever tried them with guac?  Oh my gosh.  Well, I’ve missed my chips a lot but I have thought of a way to bring them back into my life, without being tempted to eat the whole bag.

This was a typical lunch for me this week.  Did you find the Doritos?

Okay, if that’s not a lifestyle change, I don’t know what is.

But it’s a lifestyle change that has paid off.  As you can see, there is another reason I like using MyPlate:

Going down anyone?  Join me if you want!

8 thoughts on “Week 8

  1. Go YOU!!! That’s awesome! I need to check out the myplate website and see if I can do something to add to my weight loss with doing The Shred…keep up the good work!

  2. Well, if keeping MyPlate open all day makes you a dork, I’ve joined the club! I LOVE it! Thanks for telling me about it! I am on my second week…I lost 3 lbs. the first week!

    What is that dip? Hummus?

    In addition to keeping to 1200 cal/day and eating TONS of produce, I have practically cut out all sugar and white flour. I feel great!

  3. You guys rock! Pam, that dip is Sabra classic hummus. Congratulations on 3 lbs on the first week, way to go!

  4. Yay for you! These posts have been so encouraging and fun for me to read; I can’t imagine what getting to write them has been like! Great job! I’m going to have to check out Myplate too. Thanks for that. Oh, and I think I’m going to check out that yoga DVD too.

  5. I am going to check out the my plate thing as well. I believe I actually already have it on my IPod. I’m back from vacation, so I can get back on track with Jillian.

Leave a Reply

