Uncategorized

It’s Been A While

Mike has been gone a week.

The night he flew to Prague for a 2-week missions trip I dropped my laptop on our kitchen floor.

I was trying to balance it on a piled-over-the-top load of laundry, quietly, in the dark, en route to the stairs, hoping not to awake my sleeping nieces who were sacked out in the living room.

Balance has never been my strength.  When, oh when, am I going to learn this?

My laptop – the sole means to communicate with Mike while in Prague – was broken.  The only thing I saw on my screen after I powered it on was a grey background, the Apple logo, and a moving circle that told me the computer was thinking.

It wasn’t thinking at all; it was giving me the silent treatment for dropping it on its head.

It made me very, very, very sad.

I was quite nervous about telling Mike, too.

How mad was he going to be?  Would he hold a grudge over a mere accident?

I’d put this nervous feeling right up there with the time I ran into a guardrail while trying to hold down papers in the front seat while cruising with the windows down in our bright blue Geo Metro that didn’t have air conditioning.

Oh wait, that wasn’t me.  That was Mike.

Thank God for that.

Surely Mike would remember the Geo incident and have mercy on me.

I called my friend Tom the next morning at 7:30 a.m. who is a computer genius (like my husband) and I desperately hoped he would tell me what keys I needed to push in order to fix this little problem and make it go away.  He would have words of magic that would connect me once again to my friend The Internet.

Surely he would respond in such a way to my cry for help.

He said, “Bummer.  You need to make an appointment with a Genius at the Apple Store.”

Then he added, “I hope it’s still under warranty.”

Gulp.

Long story short, it was.

Thank God for that.

Andy*, the Genius at the Apple Store who informed me that my hard drive was damaged and needed to be replaced, became my new best friend after he was nice enough to let the “drop” be our little secret.  They would do the repairs for free but it would take a few days.

*names of any and all Geniuses mentioned in this post have been changed to protect the innocent

I sent Mike a facebook message (while at the Apple Store…which was very techy and kinda fun in spite of the guilt I was carrying).  He was disappointed that he couldn’t Skype to see the kids and me on the computer during the only part of the trip when he’d have means to get on the internet.  (The rest of the trip would be spent at a Young Life camp with no access.)

But he didn’t say he was mad that I dropped my laptop on the kitchen floor.

So I’ll keep the Geo incident tucked away for next time 😉

*********

Things I’ve learned through this experience:

1.  I need an iPhone or an iTouch.  (I can be trusted not to drop one of those, right?)  I didn’t have internet for four days without my MacBook.  Four lightyears.

2.  I felt pretty cool sitting at the Genius Bar talking to Andy* before I stopped to think why I was there.

3.  Not talking to Mike for this long is horrible.  We only talked once on the phone and I had to pass on bad news that his grandfather had a stroke (he’s recovering well now, thank goodness) and the phone call was so brief I’m not even sure I asked how the trip was going.

4.  I miss and love my husband very much.

5.  I missed blogging.  I missed reading blogs.  I missed google.  I missed online recipes.  I missed MyPlate.  I missed email.  But without those things, I got a lot accomplished and my sister and I had a wonderful week with six kids in one house.  I have a lot to catch you up on.

But right now, you understand, I’m feeling pretty exhausted.

7 thoughts on “It’s Been A While

  1. I’m sorry you dropped the computer at such a bad time! Never a good time to be 4 days without the internet (did you shake? *wink), but with hubby so far away – that’s not good! I’m glad that the Apple store was able to fix it for you!!!!

    Can’t wait to read the stories of 6 kids! 🙂

  2. Oh no! My heart just sank for you. There have been many times that my Macbook has almost slipped out of my hands. It is a scary feeling. I’m glad you were able to get it fixed. I don’t know what I would do without the internet for 4 whole days. I mean, what else is there to do?

  3. I wondered where you had been! Kitchen floors are always causing trouble around here (but more in the form of broken dishes). Yikes! Your laptop!!

    Three cheers for your hip Apple helper, time in the Apple store feeling all edgy and cool AND for Mike not being upset!!

    So sorry you missed your computer talks with him though. 😦

Leave a Reply

