Sincerely Shredding

Week 5

I am super happy to tell you that today I finished the 30 Day Shred!

This has been an interesting week but I ended up losing 1.4 pounds just in time for this post.  I hit a plateau and stayed right around 154 for 5 straight days.  It was pretty discouraging since I was busting my rear end with the shred and being pretty good with my 1,600 something daily calorie goal (which is supposed to be the number that helps me lose 1-2 pounds per week.)  I am only Google-educated but this is what I’ve learned my diet should be, calorie-wise.

breakfast: 300 calories

snack: 200 calories

lunch: 400 calories

snack: 200 calories

dinner: 400 calories

snack: 100 calories

I’ve pretty much followed these guidelines and the smaller meals and snacks (keeping in mind the food pyramid for nutritional needs) have helped me stay disciplined.  And a bit obsessive, if I’ll be totally honest.  So when the scale wouldn’t budge it didn’t make sense.

I made it my mission to learn all about weight loss plateaus.  Again, just a Google-educated gal but I learned some things I didn’t know.   Apparently, when you hit a plateau, you need to up the ante with your workout and/or decrease your calories by a couple hundred to “confuse” your body for a day or two.

So I tried adding some things like running up and down the stairs for a few minutes (literally a few minutes…have you tried doing that for more than 3 minutes?) and I tried 15 minutes of Mike’s P90X  – the yoga workout.  Yoga, right?  It can’t be that hard.  Especially for moi, a serious 30 Day Shredhead.

HAAHAHAHAHA.

My body, it went into some serious confusion.

But it must have worked because this morning I stepped on the scale and it was 152.4.  Finally, I can say 10 pounds now.  Actually, 10.6 🙂

So, here are my stats:

Starting Point (Day 1 of the 30 Day Shred) – 163

Week 1 – 160

Week 2 – 158.6

Week 3 – 156.4

Week 4 – 153.8

Week 5 (Day 30 of the Shred) – 152.4

So what’s next?  Well, I’m going to continue on with Levels 2 and 3 of The Shred and give some other videos a try (Biggest Loser Cardio, Power Sculpt, and Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown) until I meet my 20 lb goal.  After that I’ll just keep going with what I love.

The best thing about this is I feel like sweating is now apart of my life for good.

It makes me happy.

HAHAHAHAHA.

No, not quite there yet.  But I do feel pretty good about the direction I’m going and how far I’ve come in a relatively short amount of time.  Gotta love the Jillian for that.

5 thoughts on “Week 5

  1. I am so proud of you Anna! Way to stick it out–with both the Shred and food changes–five weeks and TEN pounds is AWESOME!!

    Not that I’m jealous or anything. Cough. (We ate doughnuts this AM, I’m sure Jillian would not approve.)

    Girl, P90 yoga is TUFF. (This I remember from last summer when I nwas actually following the program and seeing results. Sigh.) I do believe what Tony Horton preaches about muscle confusion–but it hurts. 😉

Leave a Reply

