Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

I’ll Be Getting Emails for This One I’m Sure

We went to a butterfly conservatory today with our MOPS group.  Butterflies here, butterflies there.  It was beautiful, it was captivating, it was traumatic.

Friends, I have no other way to say this, so I’m just going to be straight with you.  Mini is a butterfly murderer.

And her MOPPETS playmate, Xandra, saw the whole thing and was on the verge of real tears.  She ran to me and said, “your kid just stepped on that butterfly!”

Sure enough, the evidence spoke for itself.

But other than that, we had a splendid time.

This is my sweet friend, Naomi.  Doesn’t she look happy?  Her daughter is not a butterfly murderer.

But she is a friend to one.

I wonder what they’re conspiring about here.

Okay, Mini didn’t mean to step on the poor butterfly and she said she was sorry.  But she kept on walking up and down the path like she owned the place, so I’m not sure if there was true remorse.  But with her mama’s help, she was able to slow down a bit to really take in the beauty of a single butterfly on a pretty flower.

Once in a while I glanced up to see what Max was doing.  He and his buddy, Matthew, were having a blast learning about all the sciency stuff.

Not to mention taking full advantage of the use of those magnifying glasses.

Max asked me if he could use my camera to take some shots of his own.  Sure, since I was so busy enforcing Mini’s restraining order, I handed it over.

He took a lot of pictures like this

Nice head!

And this

Very interesting perspective on the butterfly exhibit

But…he did take this awesome photo, which I can’t stop looking at because I love it so much.

I should have it framed and put in Mini’s room as a reminder that butterflies are our friends.

6 thoughts on “I’ll Be Getting Emails for This One I’m Sure

  1. That is a lovely shot, Mr. Max! I bet he’s proud of it too. Mini is too cute to be serious about murder – she’s going to break a few hearts, I’m sure, but that will be the extent of it! That little top she has on is adorable! A. DOR. A. BLE.

  2. Hi-lar-i-ous!

    Girl, I am laughing with you, not at you, because I could totally see my kids doing that.

    Strike that. My kids would probably have been spastic about the butterflies. They are scared to death of bugs. The other day in the kiddie pool, a butterfly flew by, and my daughter fairly flew out of the pool!

Leave a Reply

