Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Strawberries

Ooh la la, it’s strawberry season in Maryland!

Mouth watering?  They are as good as they look.

We went by the orchard for a quick pickin’ (only 4 lbs) but I think that’s the way to go with a 2 year old.  She saw it, grabbed it, tasted it, played with it, stomped on it, and then had it.  She was done.  (With what I had in mind, at least.  She coulda wandered the fields all day with her little basket talking to people.)

Now Max, on the other hand, was all business.  He was a great helper to me and picked about 3 out of the 4 pounds himself.  He is really growing up.

It was cute to watch him coach his baby sister, too.  I know I’ve said this a lot, but he is really a great big brother.  He gives Mini lots of attention, is sweet to her, and makes her laugh.

Okay, sometimes he is annoying.

So when that starts happening, Mini is learning to 1) speak up (comes naturally) and 2) go do something by herself.  Something WAY more fun than being with her annoying big brother.

Witzy, can you bewieve what Max did to me?

Of course, like Mini, I would be annoyed one minute at something my brother was doing to me, then the next he would be making me laugh and I adored him again.

As soon as we got in the car and drove down some hills, I saw that Max was getting Mini to raise her hands like they were on a roller coaster. (what? do I need to slow down?) and she thought he was the greatest playmate ever.

On the way home, it was apparent just how much Mini loves her big brother and knows the way to his heart.  You know how often he asks me this so I think you’ll appreciate it as much as I did:  She said “Max?  Wanna have a conversation?”

Except it came out “Max?  Wanna schavaschation?”

Those two are something else.  I’m so glad I get to spend my days with them.

3 thoughts on “Strawberries

Leave a Reply

