Homeschooling

Sincerely Homeschooling

It’s that time of year again.  Time to think about what to do for homeschooling next year as far as curriculum goes.  The bad news is, our budget is tight but I love to buy stuff.  Lots of stuff.  New, glossy, smell-the-ink-and-paper stuff.  The good news is, last year I overbought and didn’t use all that new, glossy, good smelling stuff.  I bought ton of books that never even left the shelves.  Either I completely nixed the curriculum or there was plenty of material for two years anyway and we just didn’t get to it yet (i.e. science).  Seems that out of necessity, I will actually teach Max out of the books that we already have on our shelves.

What a concept for me to grasp!

******

I am super thankful to be apart of a support group through our church.  Every single day I hit some kind of wall when we homeschool – usually my own frustration with not being able to create this calm environment I picture in my head.  I’ll be honest, our two hours of homeschooling seldom go smoothly from start to finish.

I brought that guilt with me to our support group meeting.  God, who faithfully meets this stubborn girl who easily jumps to the conclusion that I’m way out of my league as a homeschooler, spoke to me tonight.

He said,

Anna, I don’t call you to homeschool like “Suzy” over there.  I call you to homeschool YOUR child using YOUR gifts that I gave you.

He said,

Anna, chill out with the writing already!  Dude.  Chill out!  Because I love you, here is ANOTHER example I gave you that your son can write.  Please, just encourage him.  Take a picture of this, okay?  Remember how much fun you had writing this birthday card for Grandad with him?

He said,

Anna, stay in my Word everyday.  I have verses for you like Proverbs 19:21 “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”  There’s good stuff in My Word.  Don’t miss it.

He said,

Anna, listen to these women who have been doing this longer than you have.  They have experience.  Their honesty, sense of humor, and wisdom will be exactly what I use to teach you and encourage you.  Think Titus 2, girl.  You need many Titus 2 women in your life.

(these are all paraphrased, of course.)

And, lastly,

Anna, you will be surprised what you’ll find at a used book sale for fifty cents and what gets a BIG reaction when you come home.

I bet you’ll see a similar reaction when you look at some of those books that are sitting there on your shelf.  Don’t sweat it.

********

One last thing I heard someone say tonight was (and she quoted someone else but I can’t remember who it was) “homeschooling is more for you than it is for your child.”

Amen.

9 thoughts on “Sincerely Homeschooling

  1. Thanks for sharing how God spoke to you because he spoke to me through your post.

    Isn’t it cool that he uses our children (and ALL that personality they have) to make us better and draw us closer to Him? Pretty neat-o

    FYI – YOU are THAT mom that I look at and think, “Why can’t I be more like her…”

  2. I love, love, love this post. I LOVE hearing the things that God is speaking to others. It encourages me that He will speak to me! (and I love that He calls you Dude 🙂 )

    “I don’t call you to homeschool like Suzy over there. I call you to homeschool YOUR child using YOUR gifts that I gave you.”….this just about brought me to tears. I don’t homeschool, but OHHH, how I compare myself to other moms! One in particular. I wish I were more patient like she is, and more organized like she is, and more creative, more relaxed, more disciplined, better at teaching my kids about God, and His Word, and about life, and….and…and.

    Thank you for sharing this, Anna. It definitely spoke to my heart today.

  3. Thank you, Anna, for this post. It is not easy to do what you do, but you are enjoying them and having fun memories with your kids. You laugh with them, which is so much more important than having the type of school day that you envision. I struggle with that as well and need to laugh more with my kiddos. They can learn so much doing everyday things, and sometimes it is hard to remember that school doesn’t have to look like school.

    As far as loving to buy school stuff, I understand… 🙂 We just moved about 100 book boxes to CA! Yikes. As I’m looking through my shelves and organizing, I’ll think of you and see if there is anything here that you could use.

    Love you guys and miss you!

  4. What a great post! I would love to talk to you about homeschooling. It is something I would have never considered. But, we are definitely talking and praying about it now that I have children of my own. And don’t worry, I didn’t get around to all the science stuff when I taught in public schools. So, it isn’t just homeschooling. 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing this. I needed to hear it – not necessary as it relates to homeschooling but just life in general. Some days are tough – thank goodness we serve a great big God!

  6. Thanks for sharing. I hope to get back into things next week and there are so many pressures!
    And I wholeheartedly agree that homeschooling is good for me. Especially over the last 6 weeks.

Leave a Reply

