Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories about Emmie

If You Give a Girl a New Pair of Underwear

Then you might need to plan a Potty Party  (keep following me here, we’re talking about Mini.  You didn’t think that title was about me, did you?  ha!)

And if you’re going to plan a Potty Party, then you need to think about the snacks you’re going to need.

And if you get all the snacks you think you’re going to need and put them on the counter, then you’re going to need snack approval from the Guest of Honor.

And if the Guest of Honor has a say, then you’re going to need to let her show you what she really wants from the pantry.

And if she shows you what snacks she really wants from the pantry, then you’d better be prepared to give them to her rightthisveryminute.

And if you give them to her righthisveryminute, then you’re going to need some lemonade to wash those salty chips down and get the Potty Party started.

(see huge gallon pitcher of lemonade hidden in the back of the party, right next to the Pledge wood floor cleaner)

And if you are sure that you’re ready to get the Potty Party started, then you’d better recruit Big Brother Max to keep her interested in drinking from her Dora cup all morning.

And if she’s interested in drinking from her Dora cup all morning, then you’re going to probably…eventually…need to give her, you guessed it, a new pair of underwear.

Maybe even seven more pair before the end of the day.  But, overall, she made good strides.  And I lived to tell about it.

Story continues tomorrow.  After a good night’s sleep for both of us.

6 thoughts on “If You Give a Girl a New Pair of Underwear

  1. hahaha – this made me laugh! When two of my friends and I were all potty training our girls at the same time, we had a “panty party”. All the girls got new panties with a “Big Girl” certificate, and we decorated little cakes like panties (yes we did!). I know, we’re weird like that. And, no, it didn’t help anything. 🙂

    Best of luck to you! Potty training was definitely NOT one of my most favorite times!

  2. That little girls is delish! Seriously, yummy. And I know all about yummy little girls 😉

    I love little ones in their undies! I can’t believe it’s already to potty train that sweet girl. Wasn’t it just yesterday that you went to meet her birthmom?

  3. Oh Anna! I am telling you, you are one of the most creative people I have ever known! 🙂 I love this post. I am a big fan “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” series! Hope to see you tomorrow at Chipotle.

Leave a Reply

