You Capture

You Capture (Year in Review)

The You Capture blog carnival at I Should Be Folding Laundry challenged and inspired me to take pictures with a different style in 2009.  I just have a little point and shoot – nothing fancy – but I didn’t want that to stop me from trying out different lighting, angles, and such.  It was fun to experiment this year.

The year started off with my leg in a cast and me on the floor for the entire winter.  As slow and depressing I made life out to be back then, I look back on it with (some) sweet memories.  I was on the floor at the same time that Mini was getting up off of it.  She went from crawling to standing to walking in the time period and I didn’t miss a single moment.  Turns out, the view was oh so cute and perfect.

When my broken foot finally healed in mid-March, we were more than ready to welcome Spring.  More so than any other year, I believe.

It was a major deal to go for our first walk around the lake in our neighborhood in early April.  Yay, I’m happy to see my son climbing on something besides the walls inside our house.

We took two vacations this summer and I was more intentional to capture photos in a “frame.”  These are my favorites of our trip to the mountains in New Mexico.

I was also intentional of going for personality and emotion.  Of course, no photo invokes more emotion in me than looking at the faces of my loved ones, young and old.

My grandpa at 86, who landscapes his yard like he’s got the strength of a young man, probably wouldn’t appreciate me calling him old.

These were among my favorite personality photos taken at the beach in South Carolina:

The colors of autumn were hard to resist around here.  Maryland is incredibly beautiful in the Fall and it’s usually while driving on back roads like this that I remember how much I love living here.

Having your camera handy on the passenger seat is good.  Especially when you get a chance to take a funny picture for your blog.  Though your friends will tell you they had to look twice to see what was so funny about it.

I also tried my hand at photo editing this year.  You Photoshop experts might not want to look, but I think this one turned out pretty cool.  I don’t know what I’m doing, though.

The next picture could use a little Photoshop magic but I still think it’s a great You Capture kind of photo. In Disney World, Max is showing some serious wishing at one of the fountains.  He wished for more sugar later that night at Magic Kingdom.  I giggle when I see this picture because he was SO serious about it.

I could go on and on here.  It was hard to choose my favorite pictures of the year.  2009 was one of those years where storms of trial came with aftermaths of peace and blessing.  I wish I had one picture that summed that up but I don’t.  The Lord brought us through a lot this year and that’s what I want to focus on.  There’s much to celebrate.

For more You Capture Year-in-Review posts, click here.  Thanks, Beth, for hosting this carnival!

7 thoughts on “You Capture (Year in Review)

  1. Oh my goodness. I LOVED your year in review! And I think you are totally ROCKING your point and shoot. I think the best advice anyone ever gave me was to master my point and shoot before moving on to a bigger camera : ). When you learn that point and shoot, you can do AMAZING things! I loved your editing. I can tell you made great strides. I have a terrible time with editing myself. LOVE the picture of the dog in the mirror! How cute is that? Here is to a year filled with photographing opportunities. PS Your baby is TOO adorable!

  2. “You Capture” looks like such a fun project. Is she doing the blog carnival again this year? You did a great job. I really like the ones of your trip to New Mexico, beautiful! The one of Mini and your grandpa is great too. And the one of Max on the fence is so vibrant.

    I made the collage in photoshop (I just got it for Christmas, so I am just learning how to use it). But, I have made collages before in Picasa. If you aren’t familiar with it, it is a free photo program you can download off the internet. You just don’t have as much freedom to move things around. But, it is still very fun. Let me know if you need help finding it.

  3. Love seeing your pictures! Jamey and I both love to read your blog and hear all about the kiddos! They sure are growing. Miss you guys at Christmas as well. Maybe in the near future Jamey and I can make it out to visit you guys. Happy New Year to you as well!

Leave a Reply

