Family · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

I Want

Mini had excellent timing.  She started putting the two words “I” and “want” together right before spending a week with Pops and Nana.  Such wisdom this little one holds.

Not only did she say “I want wawa” but every morning when she woke up at o’dark hundred in her pack-n-play, she had another request.  “I want Pops,” she would say in the sweetest tone.  So I picked her up in my half-asleep state, changed her diaper, and opened the door to find Pops so I could turn around and crawl back in bed.  I mean, she did ask ever so nicely.

He was always right there at the door waiting for her, ready to pour milk into her Dora the Explorer cup and go for a walk down to the beach in her jammies and pink Crocs.   These two became the best of friends.

IMG_8155

But she became best friends with Aunt Jen, too.

IMG_8076

And Nana.  I mean, “Nina.”  Mini is pulling the second-grandchild change-a-roo and giving her a new nickname.  We’ll see if it sticks but for now it makes all of us laugh.  She says, “Neeeeee-na.”

I just laugh at everything, you know.  I’m even laughing at how I used the word change-a-roo.

IMG_8080

Feet on the table don’t usually make me laugh but this time it did.  Look at her all chillin’ with that french fry.

Mmm.  The snack bar (yeah, let’s call it that) had the best fries.

Speaking of fries.  I think I ate more fried-up goodness this week than I’ve eaten all summer (that’s saying something because I love a good fry.)  We ate well.  I gained 3-4 pounds and need to seriously get that off and then some.

Which is why you won’t see too many pictures of me from the beach this year.

Because, oh my word.  My husband even looks frightened when he sees me in a swimsuit.

IMG_8238

I’m just kidding, I set that up.  He was just being goofy.  See me posing there?  Ha ha.  Ha?

ABRUPT CHANGE OF SUBJECT.  Pops and Nana surprised Max with an early birthday present.  He was not the least bit suspicious so it was really cool to see the excitement on his face when he opened it.

IMG_8051

IMG_8053

Max felt like he won the lottery.  This set is the biggest one he’s ever built (700 pieces) and he completed it mostly by himself in a couple of days.  He would’ve skipped meals and sleep and definitely a bath to do it in less time but we had to draw the line somewhere.  Since the weather was crummy at the beginning of the trip (he had already shed real tears over realizing he forgot to pack any Legos), he was very, very happy to complete the set.

Okay, I really need to wrap up here but I feel like there’s so much to tell you!

Like, for instance, I learned how to knit a scarf.  How many people can say that they learned how to knit at the beach?  Aunt Jen taught Nana and me the basics and we were not star students at all, but she was patient with us.  I came home with a lovely uneven scarf that is big enough to wrap around my wrist.  Brrr, it’s 32 degrees and my left wrist is so cold.  Good thing I have this scarf I made at the beach!  Nana had the same level of skill I had.  She ended up with a triangular scarf.  Some sort of wool bikini thong.  Wish I took pictures, it was hysterical!

Well, this post went in an entirely different direction than I intended.  Sometimes that happens.  I’ll share more beach pictures with you tomorrow.  I need to go work on my knitting or do some crunches or something.

Or possibly something I’m good at.  Like sleep.  Goodnight.

3 thoughts on “I Want

  1. I am cracking up about your wrist-scarf and Nana’s wool bikini thong! Hysterical! 🙂

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I love your root beer and pizza night idea – so fun! It does sound like a fun “guys night”. We have already been falling off the family night bandwagon….it’s been 3 weeks since we’ve done one! But we are determined not to give up. I have more ideas brewing, it just seems so hard to be consistent week in and week out. Let us know if you guys decide to start one!

  2. Hahaha I love the wrist scarf!! I’ve been wanting to learn how to knit for about a year and have yet to find someone to teach me! Lucky you! I’m glad the kids enjoyed their extended family!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

