Uncategorized

Blur-gh!

Really, for someone who loves attention, I have to say I’ve met my quota this year.  But this time I scratched my cornea on a Sunday morning (probably in my sleep) and the thing about this kind of thing is that it gets worse as time goes on.

And in the beginning you can just about talk yourself out of the possibility that the pain is coming.  But it comes.  And when it comes at church, it’s not fun at all. 

Church was a complete blur though I remember how the junior high girls jumped into action and helped me with my kids. I also remember falling asleep through the sermon with my sunglasses on.

Mike took us home, I fell asleep again, and woke up to the doorbell.  It was Faith and she was ready for an afternoon of driving me to the ER and walking me through busy parking lots and a crowded Safeway to get much needed pain pills while I carried a Starbucks cup in one hand and looked hung over.

All in all, it was a typical Sunday for a pastor’s wife.

That afternoon I slept like nobody’s business.  I woke up Monday morning, went to the doctor, then went back home and slept some more.  I went to bed at 7:30 and slept off and on for 13 hours, though  I woke up to intense pain.

Today I am doing much better.  My vision is blurry and I squint a lot in the daytime, but I’m not in any pain.  Again, I’m amazed at how quickly the eye heals.  God is a Master of design, isn’t He?  Amen??

The doctor said I have recurrent cornea errosion – that ‘s just fancy medical talk for “it happened again.”  We don’t know if it’s the same exact tear but it is in the same location.  He said he has patients who do this every few months.  If it happens a third time there is a procedure called “needleing” that he can do.  I prefer not to ever have any kind of needle-anything done to my eye, thankyou.

One thing I can try is using artificial tears every day.  That might help and it’s certainly an easy treatment option.  So that’s what I’ll do.

This all could be so much worse and I’m better now, so I won’t complain.  I’m thankful for everything – Mike who is a great dad and cleans the kitchen better than I do, a church body who goes above and beyond to help, and quality and accessible medical care and insurance. 

 That’s it.  I know this post fell kinda flat here but I’m out of words.  Thanks for your prayers and I’m happy to say I’m all better now.  I’ve missed reading your blogs and I’ll be around soon.

7 thoughts on “Blur-gh!

Leave a Reply

