Broken Foot Saga '08-'09

Another Post About The Foot

In my last post I referenced Yoda but, if you can believe it, did not take the opportunity to use my backwards Yoda speak.

Out of it, I must be.

My mind has been fixated on one thing: my follow-up doctor’s appointment tomorrow morning.  I can think of nothing else besides:  the hardly-discussed Bachelor and how happy it makes me that I can watch it online at naptime; how it snowed on Monday and how excited it made Max but how sad he was when he realized I couldn’t run out and play with him; why on earth I thought to put his snow pants in the mitten box which was the very last place I would ever look; [breathe] how glad I was that Mike got home safe from a great youth ministry conference; and how my hiney hurt from the time before he left when I tripped on our last step – while attempting to hop and wave my arms like I was in the finale of a Rockettes show – then completely surprised to look in the mirror on Monday and see that I had a bruise in the shape of Africa on my butt.

images

But other than that, the doctor’s appointment is all I can think about.

I’m so glad it’s for my foot.  I do feel somewhat 100% confident that there won’t be a need to bring up Africa during the visit.

Tomorrow, after 4 long weeks, I get my cast off and have another xray.   It’s been 12 weeks since I broke the base of my 5th metatarsal – that teeny, tiny avulsion fracture they said would heal in less than three.  I was convinced that the immobilzation of the cast and 3 plus weeks of non-weight bearing would do the trick.   But here I am still in pain and I can’t walk on my left foot.

Can’t even hop on the right foot, as it turns out.

Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be coming home in my running shoes (or Rockette heels).  I’ll let you know what happens.

5 thoughts on “Another Post About The Foot

  1. That bruise does look like Africa! And man, is your butt white! I’m sorry if that was wrong, it’s early and it was the first thing to pop in my head. I mean, it’s the second thing. The first thing was how bad I felt about your foot. I am praying for you, I know you hate that cast. I love, however, the way you can still find the blessings of the situation. Anyway, I hope that makes up for the initial comment. The seventh grader in me lives so close to surface, sometimes I can’t stop him!

  2. We’re all in touch with our inner 7th grader, Jim – that’s why we’ve lasted so long in Jr. High ministry.

    I re-read this post and it made me laugh – do the Rockettes even wave their hands?

  3. I can’t even begin to imagine how hard this must be without getting any much needed results. But I’m still praying for your patience and healing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

