Broken Foot Saga '08-'09 · Uncategorized

Over It But Not Going Under

Guess what?  After a few days of putting weight back on my foot I’m having problems again. 
After a busy weekend, I noticed my toes were really swollen and the side of my foot hurt a lot on Sunday night.  I rested yesterday thanks to my friend’s invitation to take Max for the day but even after that, I don’t feel any better.  So I called the doc this morning to say What’s Up?

He said your foot should be.

Well, not so much elevated but at least not hitting the floor.  I’m back (for the fourth time!) in the wheely chair in the kitchen (and dodging traffic at a painfully slow pace), crutches, and crawling up and down the stairs.  Not being able to carry Mini standing up is the most difficult adjustment.  This keeps me home-bound when Mike is at work or has things on his evening or weekend schedule.  Pastors tend to be busy in the evening or weekend.  Okay, maybe that’s the most difficult part.   

I am not going back into the pit.  I’m just not.  You all are holding me accountable and while it’s okay for me to feel frustrated, I need to find that healthy balance of getting rest but not feeling self-pity as I lose my independence.  The goal is to get better, do what I can at this painfully slow pace, and appreciate (accepting with no guilt) everything Mike and others continually do for me.

Fourth time is a charm. 

Would you please pray for me?  Thanks.

10 thoughts on “Over It But Not Going Under

  1. I am praying for you right now at work. I’m glad that you are accepting help when people offer it, it is humbling, but a must do. Hang in there girl!

  2. Thanks for sharing your prayer request and for being open, honest and matter of fact! Satan would love for you to stuff this inside and not share your struggle. I will be praying that you keep finding the humor in this! You are really good at that!

    YOU are amazing Anna and this too will pass!! Keep on, keepin’ on my friend!!

  3. Thank you so much. My friend who invited Max over to play yesterday was awesome. She has 6 kids and he stayed from morning to evening and both Max and I got re-fueled in our own way 🙂 The people at our church have been so helpful. Everytime I turn around someone is asking what I need.

  4. Oh Anna! I wish I was closer to you! =\ When things are hard I just remember these verses:

    “For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.” -Romans 8:18 KJV

    “Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer.” -Romans 12:12 KJV

    Keep your head up–God is going to show you some awesome things through this experience! 🙂

  5. Anna,
    I’m sorry your leg is taking so long to heal–my neighbor went through something similar–his finally did get better, but took a lot longer than he wanted, too! Why can’t our bodies recover like they did when we were twelve?

    I love your Mini pics–so adorable! I can’t believe how you coordinated everything–bib, plates–you are one organized woman!

    Thanks for sharing your blog with us.

    Carolyn

  6. Oh my goodness Anna! I’m so sorry that your foot is taking so long to heal and you are almost back to where you started. I’m sure that’s blow-your-top frustrating. Surely, THIS time will work. Shirley.

    How wonderful for you to have many caretakers/helpers/angels checking in, borrowing Max, etc.

    You ARE strong, you won’t be back in that pit.

  7. Hi Anna,

    I’m sorry also, that you are still having problems with your foot. I am praying…and enlisting my prayer partners to pray too. “Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever.” So that means He healed then and He is still the Healer. “By His stripes we are healed.” And that is how I’m praying. Matt 8:1-17 & Is 53:5

Leave a Reply

