Stories about Emmie

First Steps

Last week, during the rare occasion of having my side of the family together in our living room,  Mini took her first real step away from the coffee table.  I interrupted the conversation and said, “look what she just did!”

Cheers filled the room and Mini’s face lit up with delight.  Her hands quickly clapped together but then she proceeded to crawl to her next destination.

Yay, her first step and someone was there to see it with me!  Not only someone but lots of someones:   Max, my mom, dad, stepmom, brother, and sister.  How cool is that?

Unfortunately, Mike missed it because he was visiting a friend in the hospital at the time and, incidentally, I forgot to tell him about the big event until later that night.  I just had a lot on my mind, I guess.  It was funny – my mom mentioned celebrating her first steps at dinner and Mike looked at me and said, “Mini took her first steps today?”

First step, singular, I reassured him.  It wasn’t that big of a deal (avoiding eye contact).  I mean, I didn’t even get a picture; no big deal.

Oh, you know it was a big deal.  Mike forgave me (quickly) for the slip-up.  I love him for his easy going nature.

But I had to make it up to him.  So I didn’t even try to get Mini to walk again all weekend while he was gone.  I wanted her to wait for Daddy to get home (and also he took our camera on the ski trip but that’s completely a sidenote.)

Okay, not having the camera was the real reason I waited.

Anywho, it worked.  She didn’t even try to take another step all week until today.  As luck would have it, I had the camera ready AND she did it again when Mike came home from work.  It was a very happy night for our family.

blog_mini-first-stepsI can’t look! This is so exciting!

blog_mini-first-steps2Extra points for style!

7 thoughts on “First Steps

  1. Congrats! I’m so excited for you on Mini’s special milestone!

    Mia’s taken a step here and there, but always promptly falls to her bottom and takes off crawling. With BJ walking at 10 months, I’ve almost decided 14 mo. old Mia’s never going to walk!

    I can’t wait to see more pictures! She’s getting so big. The picture with her eyes closed is priceless! You should have a caption contest 🙂

Leave a Reply

